Skip to content
Head to head · Verified 8 to 19 Oct 2026

Smartlead vs Instantly

Smartlead

Best sending infrastructure $39/mo
vs

Instantly

Best for unlimited mailboxes and warmup $47/mo
Short answer

Smartlead vs Instantly is the closest pairing in the sending category, because both solved the same problem the same way: stop charging per mailbox, so a cold outbound operation can spread sending across as many domains and inboxes as deliverability requires. Both publish full rate cards. The difference that decides most builds is where the API sits, which makes Instantly far cheaper to start building against and Smartlead Pro the better value once volume is real.

Side by side

Where they actually differ

Every value comes from the same record that drives the Sending APIs listing, so this table cannot disagree with the cards. Accented tags are data one provider returns and the other does not.

Compare Smartlead Instantly
What it isUnlimited mailboxes, but the API starts at ProSending and data sold separately, or bundled
Entry price$39/mo$47/mo
Unit costNot sold by the unitNot sold by the unit
Billing modelSubscriptionSubscription Credit packs
Free tierNo free tier. Free trial, no card. API access starts at the Pro plan.No free tier. Outreach and Credits are sold separately from $47 each.
GTM motion coveredEngageSource Enrich Engage
Data returned
Work emailCRM records
Work emailFirmographicsJob postingsIntent and news
MCP serverYes
https://mcp.smartlead.ai/sse
Yes
https://mcp.instantly.ai/mcp
InterfacesREST API MCP server Webhooks n8n nodeREST API MCP server Webhooks Bulk or async n8n node
AuthAPI key as a query parameterBearer token, from a scoped API v2 key in workspace settings
Rate limits60 req/min and 1,000/hour per key, 120 and 3,000 on Pro. Three endpoints capped at 10 a minute on top.100 req/s and 6,000/min, shared across v1, v2 and every key in the workspace.
CoverageGlobalGlobal
ComplianceGDPR DPA SOC 2 Type IIGDPR DPA
Best forBest sending infrastructureBest for unlimited mailboxes and warmup
The decision

Pick each one when

Smartlead

  • Volume is real: 90,000 sends and 30,000 contacts at Pro.
  • You want verified prospect emails included rather than bought separately.
  • Unlimited contact storage on the Unlimited tiers matters.

Instantly

  • You want API access on the cheapest plan, not at the third tier.
  • 100 requests a second rather than 60 a minute.
  • Buying the sender without the data, at $47, is the point.
The test that settles it

A sender's rate card is not the part that bites. Confirm the API is on the plan you intend to buy, then run one real sequence of 200 contacts through each on a mailbox you have already warmed, and compare what the API tells you afterwards: which replies it classifies, what it reports on a bounce, and whether the webhook arrives at all. None of that is on a pricing page.

Plan by plan

What each one costs, tier by tier

Both publish a full rate card, so this comparison runs on numbers rather than on adjectives. Smartlead lists 4 tiers and Instantly lists 4. Every figure is read off the vendor's own pricing page, and the pages they came from are listed at the foot of this one.

The short versionSmartleadInstantly
Cheapest paid planBase, $39Outreach only, $47
Tiers published44
Free tierNo free tier. Free trial, no card. API access starts at the Pro plan.No free tier. Outreach and Credits are sold separately from $47 each.
Unit cost at entryNot sold by the unitNot sold by the unit

The cheapest paid plan is rarely the plan you end up on, because what moves you up a tier is usually volume rather than a feature. The two rate cards below are what you are choosing between.

Smartlead

Smartlead publishes 4 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $39 to $379.

Base

$39
/mo
  • Unlimited email accounts and warmup
  • 2,000 contacts, 6,000 sends a month
  • No API, no webhooks, no CRM

Pro

$94
/mo
  • The first tier with API and webhooks
  • 30,000 contacts, 90,000 sends
  • Client workspaces at $29 each, SmartServers at $39

Unlimited Smart

$174
/mo
  • Unlimited contact storage, 150,000 sends
  • 50,000 verified prospect emails included
  • Premium warmup pool and CSM access

Unlimited Prime

$379
/mo
  • 500,000 sends, 170,000 verified emails
  • 3 SmartServers and 3 client workspaces included
  • Dedicated manager and a private Slack channel

Instantly

Instantly publishes 4 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $47 to $194.

Outreach only

$47
/mo
  • Unlimited email accounts and warmup
  • 5,000 emails, 1,000 uploaded contacts
  • No database access

Credits only

$47
/mo
  • 1,500 credits a month
  • 450M contact database and waterfall enrichment
  • No sending

Starter bundle

$94
/mo
  • Both halves, at the same combined price
  • 5,000 emails, 1,000 contacts, 1,500 credits
  • AI Sales Agent

Scale bundle

$194
/mo
  • 100,000 emails, 25,000 uploaded contacts
  • 5,000 credits a month
  • AI Reply Agent and premium live support
Cost model

What Smartlead and Instantly cost at your volume

Put your own volume in. The model picks the cheapest published plan that covers it on each side, which is the question a rate card cannot answer and the one that decides the bill.

Smartlead

Priced on the volume you use, so the plan that covers a normal month is the one that decides the bill.

Plan that covers itPro
Monthly$94
Twelve months$1,128
Included90,000 sends
Your rate at this volume$0.0094 per send

Instantly

Priced on the volume you use, so the plan that covers a normal month is the one that decides the bill.

Plan that covers itScale bundle
Monthly$194
Twelve months$2,328
Included100,000 emails
Your rate at this volume$0.0194 per email

Plans are read from each vendor's own pricing page and the model picks the cheapest one that covers you, so these are list prices before any discount you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount.

Twelve months

What a year costs at three volumes

The same plan-fit arithmetic as the model above, run out to a year, because an annual number is what a budget actually asks for. Every column moves with volume, because all of these meter usage rather than seats.

A year atSmartleadInstantly
1,000 a month$1,128
Pro
$564
Outreach only
10,000 a month$1,128
Pro
$2,328
Scale bundle
50,000 a month$1,128
Pro
$2,328
Scale bundle

2 of the 2 providers here publish enough to be put in this table. These are list prices on the published plan that covers each volume, so they are the number before you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount by between a fifth and a half.

In practice

How this plays out once it is running

Instantly puts the API on every plan, so $47 a month for the Outreach half buys unlimited accounts, unlimited warmup and 100 requests a second against the API. Smartlead keeps the API and webhooks off its $39 Base plan entirely and starts them at Pro, $94 a month, which also brings 30,000 contacts and 90,000 sends against Instantly Outreach's 1,000 and 5,000. So the headline price is not the comparison: $39 buys you a sender you cannot automate.

The other structural difference is data. Instantly sells a 450M contact database as a separate $47 half, where Smartlead meters verified prospect emails as a $59 add-on on Base and Pro and includes them on the Unlimited tiers. Either way you are buying two things, and the question is whether you want them on one invoice.

Strengths

What each one is genuinely good at

Not a feature list. These are the things that make somebody keep paying after the novelty has worn off, which is a different question from what the marketing page leads with.

Smartlead

Real volume at the tier that carries the API

Pro is $94 a month with 90,000 sends and 30,000 contacts. Instantly's Starter bundle is $94 for 5,000 emails and 1,000 contacts, so at the same price Smartlead is eighteen times the sending volume and thirty times the contact storage.

Verified prospect emails included rather than bought separately

Fifty thousand on Unlimited Smart at $174, 170,000 on Unlimited Prime at $379. Instantly sells the data as its own $47 subscription, so the comparison at volume is one bill against two.

Webhooks on every event

Which is what lets replies drive your own systems rather than sitting in somebody else's interface. For an API-first build that is the feature that matters most, and it is the reason Smartlead is in this directory at all.

Instantly

The API is on the cheapest plan, not the third one

This is the comparison. Smartlead's Base at $39 has no API and no webhooks at all, so a programmatic build starts at $94. Instantly's $47 halves both carry the API, which halves the cost of finding out whether the integration works.

A hundred requests a second, against 60 a minute

Instantly publishes a plain per-second rate per workspace. Smartlead's is per minute, so for a bulk backfill the difference is two orders of magnitude and it decides how a sync is written rather than just how long it takes.

You can buy the halves separately

The sender at $47 without the data, or the 450M contact database with waterfall enrichment at $47 without the sender. If you already have one half, that is the cheaper purchase and Smartlead does not offer the equivalent.

Limits

Where each one falls down

Every provider on this site has a case it handles badly, and the people who find out are the ones who bought it for that case. These are the ones worth knowing before you sign rather than after.

Smartlead

Base at $39 is not a cheaper version of the product

No API, no webhooks, no CRM. The plan that looks like the entry point does not do the thing this directory is about, and comparing it against Instantly's $47 understates Smartlead by a full tier.

Sixty requests a minute

Against Instantly's 100 a second. For sending that is rarely the constraint, and for a backfill or a reconciliation job it is the number that turns an afternoon into a week.

Instantly

Uploaded contacts run out before emails do

A thousand contacts against 5,000 emails on the $47 Outreach tier, and 25,000 against 100,000 on the $194 Scale bundle. If your sequence has more than one step per contact, the contact ceiling is what moves you up a tier, and the pricing page leads with the email figure.

Replying may be a higher plan

Instantly's own pricing page lists Unibox replies against the Scale bundle at $194, not against the $47 halves. Check what is included after the prospect replies rather than only what it takes to send.

Buying both halves is $94

Which is the same price as Smartlead Pro for a fraction of the sending volume. The two-subscription model is cheap when you want one half and not when you want both.

Both

Using Smartlead and Instantly together

A two-way comparison assumes the answer is one of them. On this pairing it often is not, and the arrangement below is what teams actually end up running.

These are direct substitutes, so running both is a migration state rather than a design, and the migration has one rule worth more than the rest.

Move sending domains last. Mailbox warmup history does not transfer, so the new platform starts cold on reputation however good its warmup pool is. Run one cycle on both with a slice of real traffic, watch placement rather than the warmup dashboard, and only then move the rest.

If you are choosing rather than moving, the question is where the volume is. Under a few thousand sends a month and wanting an API, Instantly at $47. Past that, Smartlead Pro at $94 is more sending, more contacts and webhooks on every event.

Decide

Smartlead or Instantly, for you

Five questions, answered from the same records as the rest of this page. Nothing is sent anywhere and there is no result to email yourself.

Roughly how many records a month?
Do you need CRM records?
Are you buying one step or the whole motion?
Do you need SOC 2 Type II published up front?
What does finance want to see?
Answer the questions above

Each answer leans one way. The recommendation appears here once you have picked at least two.

A tool like this can only weigh what is on the page. It does not know your segment, and the one test that does is the bake-off further down: real rows, cheapest entry on each side, spend divided by survivors.

Where an answer leans on a certification or an integration, it means that vendor publishes it on the pages this directory read, which is not the same as the other one lacking it. The sources are listed at the foot of the page.

Provenance

Where the data comes from, and what you may do with it

The question that arrives late and expensively is not how good the data is, it is who is allowed to hold it. These are the fields each one returns, the coverage it claims and the compliance it publishes.

ProviderFields returnedCoverageComplianceRedistribution
SmartleadWork email, CRM recordsGlobalGDPR DPA SOC 2 Type IINot stated
InstantlyWork email, Firmographics, Job postings, Intent and newsGlobalGDPR DPANot stated

None of these states a redistribution position on its pricing or docs pages. Internally that never matters. Put the rows in something your customers can see and it becomes the question your legal team asks first.

Two practical notes that apply to every provider on this page. A compliance badge describes the vendor, not your use of it, so a GDPR DPA does not give you a lawful basis for the outreach you send. And every one of these vendors runs its own opt-out, which means a person who asks you to delete their record has to be removed from your copy as well as from theirs.

Migration

Moving between Smartlead and Instantly

Most readers of this page are already on one of these two. A swap is four hours of code and a month of watching, and the order below is the one that catches the expensive mistakes while they are still free.

01

Measure the thing you are about to lose

Run 500 rows you already have through Smartlead and record the match rate, the fields that came back populated and the cost. Without that number a migration cannot be judged, because every provider looks cheaper per unit than the one you are paying for today.

02

Check the fields, not the field count

Instantly does not return CRM records, which Smartlead does. If anything downstream reads crm records, that is a change to your pipeline and not just to your vendor.

03

Rewrite the auth and the limits, in that order

Smartlead authenticates with API key as a query parameter. Instantly uses bearer token, from a scoped API v2 key in workspace settings.

The limits are the part that bites later. Smartlead rate: 60 req/min and 1,000/hour per key, 120 and 3,000 on Pro. Three endpoints capped at 10 a minute on top.

Instantly rate: 100 req/s and 6,000/min, shared across v1, v2 and every key in the workspace. A loop tuned to the first will either crawl or get throttled on the second.

04

Run both for one billing cycle

Keep the old key live and route a slice of real traffic to the new one. A month is the shortest honest test, because credit expiry, rollover and the overage rate only show up at renewal and those are where the surprises live.

05

Cancel on the renewal date, not before

Credits on most of these plans do not survive a downgrade. Check what happens to the balance you have already paid for, and time the switch so you are not buying the same records twice.

The step people skip is the first one, and it is the only one that cannot be done after the fact. Once the old key is off you have nothing to compare the new match rate against, so a provider that is quietly worse on your segment looks like a provider that is fine.

What practitioners say

What practitioners say about Smartlead

The one part of this page that is not a vendor claim. Quotes are transcribed as written, linked to the thread, and nothing here is the only source for a figure in the tables above.

The sending tool is not what decides deliverability

To be clear, instantly Apollo and smartleads are all just front end management tools for campaign, lead list, and sending triggering through any API/SMTP servers (like Gmail, M365, sendgrid, SES, etc.) and they shouldn't have a direct effect on deliverability. Your email copy, leads, and sending patterns/volume are what matters the most

r/Emailmarketing · June 2024 · 5 points

The most useful correction on this page, and it applies to every sending provider in the directory rather than to Smartlead alone. These products schedule, rotate and report; the mail still leaves through Google, Microsoft or an SMTP relay, and the things that decide placement are the domain, the authentication, the list and the volume curve.

What that means for a comparison like this one is that the feature lists are not where the difference lives. Compare the mailbox economics, the webhook surface and what the API lets you automate, because those are the parts the vendor actually controls.

14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.

Comparison pages end at the rate card. Your list does not.

We run the bake-off on your actual data, pick the provider order, and build the pipeline behind it: waterfall routing, credit ceilings and the write-back that puts a verified contact in front of a rep the same day.

See the stacks

Worked with 300+ companies. A senior operator runs your account.

FAQ

Smartlead and Instantly, answered

Read from the same records that drive the table above.

Is Smartlead or Instantly cheaper?

On the entry plan it is Smartlead, $39/mo against Instantly at $47/mo. The entry price is the comparable figure, because they do not meter the same thing.

Can I try Smartlead and Instantly for free?

Smartlead: No free tier. Free trial, no card. API access starts at the Pro plan. Instantly: No free tier. Outreach and Credits are sold separately from $47 each.

What are the rate limits on Smartlead and Instantly?

Smartlead: 60 req/min and 1,000/hour per key, 120 and 3,000 on Pro. Three endpoints capped at 10 a minute on top. Instantly: 100 req/s and 6,000/min, shared across v1, v2 and every key in the workspace.

Do Smartlead and Instantly both have MCP servers?

Both do. Smartlead: https://mcp.smartlead.ai/sse. Instantly: https://mcp.instantly.ai/mcp.

Which is better, Smartlead or Instantly?

Smartlead vs Instantly is the closest pairing in the sending category, because both solved the same problem the same way: stop charging per mailbox, so a cold outbound operation can spread sending across as many domains and inboxes as deliverability requires. Both publish full rate cards.

What are the downsides of Smartlead and Instantly?

Measured against each other rather than in general. Smartlead: there is no free tier, only a trial, so test your own list inside its limits before paying. Instantly: there is no free tier, so you cannot measure your own match rate before paying.

Can you use Smartlead and Instantly together?

These are direct substitutes, so running both is a migration state rather than a design, and the migration has one rule worth more than the rest.

Can I migrate from Smartlead to Instantly without losing data?

Not without losing a field. Instantly does not return CRM records, which Smartlead does, so anything downstream that reads it has to change. Either way, measure your match rate on 500 rows before you switch, because that number is the one you cannot recover afterwards.

Published by

Frontal

Frontal is the go-to-market partner for B2B tech companies past product-market fit. It publishes this directory. Every price, tier requirement and rate limit on this page was read from the vendor's own pricing page, developer documentation or knowledge base on the date below. Nothing on it is restated from a press release or a third-party listing.

Frontal is an Instantly Certified Expert.

Where a vendor publishes no public figure, this page says so rather than estimating. How we checked.