Skip to content
Head to head · Verified 8 to 19 Oct 2026

Apollo vs Instantly

Apollo API

Best all-in-one GTM API $49/seat/mo
vs

Instantly

Best for unlimited mailboxes and warmup $47/mo
Short answer

Apollo vs Instantly is a bundling question with a clear answer once you know which half you need. Apollo is $49 a seat for search, enrichment and sequencing on one credit balance, with a free plan at 900 credits a year. Instantly is two $47 subscriptions: an Outreach half with unlimited email accounts and unlimited warmup, and a Credits half with a 450M contact database and waterfall enrichment. The real split is sending infrastructure.

Side by side

Where they actually differ

Every value comes from the same record that drives the Enrichment APIs listing, so this table cannot disagree with the cards. Accented tags are data one provider returns and the other does not.

Compare Apollo API Instantly
What it isSearch, enrich and sequence from one credit balanceSending and data sold separately, or bundled
Entry price$49/seat/mo$47/mo
Unit cost$0.02 per creditNot sold by the unit
Billing modelPer seat Credit packs Free tierSubscription Credit packs
Free tierFree plan with API access, 900 credits per seat per year granted monthly, so 75 a monthNo free tier. Outreach and Credits are sold separately from $47 each.
GTM motion coveredSource Enrich Engage SyncSource Enrich Engage
Data returned
Work emailMobile phoneFirmographicsTechnographicsJob postingsIntent and newsLinkedIn profileCRM records
Work emailFirmographicsJob postingsIntent and news
MCP serverYes
https://mcp.apollo.io/mcp
Yes
https://mcp.instantly.ai/mcp
InterfacesREST API MCP server Webhooks Bulk or async Native in Clay n8n nodeREST API MCP server Webhooks Bulk or async n8n node
AuthAPI key in the x-api-key headerBearer token, from a scoped API v2 key in workspace settings
Rate limits200 req/min, 2,000/day on Basic. Enrichment gets 1,000/min with no daily cap.100 req/s and 6,000/min, shared across v1, v2 and every key in the workspace.
CoverageGlobalGlobal
ComplianceGDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II CCPAGDPR DPA
Best forBest all-in-one GTM APIBest for unlimited mailboxes and warmup
The decision

Pick each one when

Apollo API

  • One seat covering search, enrichment and sequencing.
  • A free plan to build and test on.
  • The data and the sending should share one balance.

Instantly

  • Cold email across many domains and inboxes, with warmup on each.
  • You already have a data provider and want only the sender.
  • Metering on volume rather than per mailbox is the point.
The question before the comparison

These two do different jobs, so the useful question is not which one wins but whether you need both. Run the same 500 rows through the broader product on its own, then through the specialist as a second pass, and count the rows the second pass actually adds. If you can count them on one hand, the broader product is the whole stack.

Plan by plan

What each one costs, tier by tier

Both publish a full rate card, so this comparison runs on numbers rather than on adjectives. Apollo API lists 4 tiers and Instantly lists 4. Every figure is read off the vendor's own pricing page, and the pages they came from are listed at the foot of this one.

The short versionApollo APIInstantly
Cheapest paid planBasic, $49Outreach only, $47
Tiers published44
Free tierFree plan with API access, 900 credits per seat per year granted monthly, so 75 a monthNo free tier. Outreach and Credits are sold separately from $47 each.
Unit cost at entry$0.0196 per creditNot sold by the unit

The cheapest paid plan is rarely the plan you end up on, because what moves you up a tier is usually volume rather than a feature. The two rate cards below are what you are choosing between.

Apollo API

Apollo API publishes 4 tiers, one of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $49 to $119.

Free

$0
900 credits a seat a year
  • Full API access, not a trial of it
  • Granted monthly, so 75 credits a month in practice
  • 2 sequences and basic filters

Basic

$49
/seat/mo billed annually, 30,000 credits a seat a year
  • US$588 a seat a year, credits granted upfront and pooled across the team
  • 2,500 credits a month, at $0.0196 each
  • Annual billing saves 24% against paying monthly

Professional

$79
/seat/mo billed annually, 48,000 credits a seat a year
  • 4,000 credits a month, at $0.0198 each
  • AI lead scoring and multi-touch outreach

Organization

$119
/seat/mo billed annually, minimum 3 seats
  • 72,000 credits a seat a year, so 6,000 a month
  • $0.0198 a credit, so the rate is flat across every paid tier
  • The three-seat minimum makes US$357 a month the real floor

Instantly

Instantly publishes 4 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $47 to $194.

Outreach only

$47
/mo
  • Unlimited email accounts and warmup
  • 5,000 emails, 1,000 uploaded contacts
  • No database access

Credits only

$47
/mo
  • 1,500 credits a month
  • 450M contact database and waterfall enrichment
  • No sending

Starter bundle

$94
/mo
  • Both halves, at the same combined price
  • 5,000 emails, 1,000 contacts, 1,500 credits
  • AI Sales Agent

Scale bundle

$194
/mo
  • 100,000 emails, 25,000 uploaded contacts
  • 5,000 credits a month
  • AI Reply Agent and premium live support
Cost model

What Apollo and Instantly cost at your volume

Put your own volume in. The model picks the cheapest published plan that covers it on each side, which is the question a rate card cannot answer and the one that decides the bill.

Apollo API

Priced on the volume you use, so the plan that covers a normal month is the one that decides the bill.

Plan that covers itBasic, 4 seats
Monthly$196
Twelve months$2,352
Included10,000 credits
Your rate at this volume$0.0196 per credit

Instantly

Priced on the volume you use, so the plan that covers a normal month is the one that decides the bill.

Plan that covers itScale bundle
Monthly$194
Twelve months$2,328
Included100,000 emails
Your rate at this volume$0.0194 per email

Plans are read from each vendor's own pricing page and the model picks the cheapest one that covers you, so these are list prices before any discount you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount.

Twelve months

What a year costs at three volumes

The same plan-fit arithmetic as the model above, run out to a year, because an annual number is what a budget actually asks for. Every column moves with volume, because all of these meter usage rather than seats.

A year atApollo APIInstantly
1,000 a month$588
Basic
$564
Outreach only
10,000 a month$2,352
Basic
$2,328
Scale bundle
50,000 a month$11,760
Basic
$2,328
Scale bundle

2 of the 2 providers here publish enough to be put in this table. These are list prices on the published plan that covers each volume, so they are the number before you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount by between a fifth and a half.

In practice

How this plays out once it is running

Buy both Instantly halves and you are at $94 a month against Apollo's $49 a seat, which flips in Apollo's favor for a single user and against it for a team. Apollo sequences from a modest number of mailboxes; Instantly is built to run cold email across dozens of domains with warmup on every inbox, and that is not something Apollo is trying to do.

So it comes out as two different purchases. Apollo if the motion is a rep sequencing from their own address and you want the data in the same account. Instantly if the motion is volume cold email and the deliverability work is the job.

Strengths

What each one is genuinely good at

Not a feature list. These are the things that make somebody keep paying after the novelty has worn off, which is a different question from what the marketing page leads with.

Apollo API

One seat covers search, enrichment and sequencing

At $49 with everything on one credit balance, against Instantly's two $47 subscriptions for the same coverage. For a single operator that is roughly half the price for a wider product.

The plumbing costs nothing to call

Sequence, contact and task endpoints are 0 credits, so the parts of the motion that run most often never touch the balance. Instantly meters emails and uploaded contacts on the sending half and credits on the data half.

A free plan with the full API, and an MCP server

Nine hundred credits a seat a year, and mcp.apollo.io/mcp. Instantly has no free tier at all, so proving the build is cheaper here; both now publish an MCP server.

Instantly

Cold email across many domains, with warmup on every inbox

Unlimited email accounts and unlimited warmup on the $47 Outreach half. This is the thing Apollo does not attempt, and for a motion that sends from dozens of domains it is not a feature comparison, it is the product.

You can buy one half

The sender at $47 without the data, or the 450M contact database with waterfall enrichment at $47 without the sender. If a data provider is already in place, that is the cheaper purchase and Apollo does not unbundle.

Metering on volume rather than per mailbox

Mailboxes are unlimited and the plan is sized on emails and uploaded contacts. For an operation whose cost would otherwise scale with inbox count, that is the structural difference.

Limits

Where each one falls down

Every provider on this site has a case it handles badly, and the people who find out are the ones who bought it for that case. These are the ones worth knowing before you sign rather than after.

Apollo API

Sequencing from a modest number of mailboxes

Apollo is a data platform with a sequencer, not sending infrastructure. There is no warmup pool and no per-domain model, so a high-volume cold motion outgrows it on deliverability rather than on credits.

The seat is mandatory and the credits are annual

Thirty thousand per seat per year is 2,500 a month, and a headless pipeline still pays $49 for a login nobody uses.

Instantly

Buying both halves is $94

Against Apollo's $49 for a wider product. The two-subscription model is cheap when you want one half and expensive when you want both, and most teams comparing these two want both.

A thousand uploaded contacts on the entry tier

Against 5,000 emails a month. The contact ceiling moves you up tiers faster than send volume does, which is not what the pricing page leads with.

Replying may be a higher plan

Instantly's own pricing page lists Unibox replies against the $194 Scale bundle rather than the $47 halves. Check what is included after the prospect replies, not just what it takes to send.

Both

Using Apollo and Instantly together

A two-way comparison assumes the answer is one of them. On this pairing it often is not, and the arrangement below is what teams actually end up running.

The arrangement that works is Apollo for the data and Instantly for the sending, which is to say Apollo's Credits-equivalent and Instantly's Outreach half, and dropping the two you are duplicating.

Buying Instantly's Credits half alongside Apollo is the overlap to avoid: both are contact databases with waterfall enrichment, and Apollo's per-credit rate is lower. Buying Apollo's sequencer alongside Instantly's Outreach half is the other one, and there the sending infrastructure wins.

So the honest stack is Apollo at $49 plus Instantly Outreach at $47, with nothing bought twice. That is $96 for data, sequencing, CRM write-back and unlimited mailboxes with warmup, which is less than most single-vendor answers to the same brief.

Decide

Apollo or Instantly, for you

Four questions, answered from the same records as the rest of this page. Nothing is sent anywhere and there is no result to email yourself.

Do you need to test on your own list before paying?
Do you need mobile phone?
Are you buying one step or the whole motion?
Do you need SOC 2 Type II published up front?
Answer the questions above

Each answer leans one way. The recommendation appears here once you have picked at least two.

A tool like this can only weigh what is on the page. It does not know your segment, and the one test that does is the bake-off further down: real rows, cheapest entry on each side, spend divided by survivors.

Where an answer leans on a certification or an integration, it means that vendor publishes it on the pages this directory read, which is not the same as the other one lacking it. The sources are listed at the foot of the page.

Provenance

Where the data comes from, and what you may do with it

The question that arrives late and expensively is not how good the data is, it is who is allowed to hold it. These are the fields each one returns, the coverage it claims and the compliance it publishes.

ProviderFields returnedCoverageComplianceRedistribution
Apollo APIWork email, Mobile phone, Firmographics, Technographics, Job postings, Intent and news, LinkedIn profile, CRM recordsGlobalGDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II CCPANot stated
InstantlyWork email, Firmographics, Job postings, Intent and newsGlobalGDPR DPANot stated

None of these states a redistribution position on its pricing or docs pages. Internally that never matters. Put the rows in something your customers can see and it becomes the question your legal team asks first.

Two practical notes that apply to every provider on this page. A compliance badge describes the vendor, not your use of it, so a GDPR DPA does not give you a lawful basis for the outreach you send. And every one of these vendors runs its own opt-out, which means a person who asks you to delete their record has to be removed from your copy as well as from theirs.

Migration

Moving between Apollo and Instantly

Most readers of this page are already on one of these two. A swap is four hours of code and a month of watching, and the order below is the one that catches the expensive mistakes while they are still free.

01

Measure the thing you are about to lose

Run 500 rows you already have through Apollo API and record the match rate, the fields that came back populated and the cost. Without that number a migration cannot be judged, because every provider looks cheaper per unit than the one you are paying for today.

02

Check the fields, not the field count

Instantly does not return Mobile phone, Technographics, LinkedIn profile and CRM records, which Apollo API does. If anything downstream reads mobile phone, that is a change to your pipeline and not just to your vendor.

03

Rewrite the auth and the limits, in that order

Apollo API authenticates with API key in the x-api-key header. Instantly uses bearer token, from a scoped API v2 key in workspace settings.

The limits are the part that bites later. Apollo API rate: 200 req/min, 2,000/day on Basic. Enrichment gets 1,000/min with no daily cap.

Instantly rate: 100 req/s and 6,000/min, shared across v1, v2 and every key in the workspace. A loop tuned to the first will either crawl or get throttled on the second.

04

Run both for one billing cycle

Keep the old key live and route a slice of real traffic to the new one. A month is the shortest honest test, because credit expiry, rollover and the overage rate only show up at renewal and those are where the surprises live.

05

Cancel on the renewal date, not before

Credits on most of these plans do not survive a downgrade. Check what happens to the balance you have already paid for, and time the switch so you are not buying the same records twice.

The step people skip is the first one, and it is the only one that cannot be done after the fact. Once the old key is off you have nothing to compare the new match rate against, so a provider that is quietly worse on your segment looks like a provider that is fine.

What practitioners say

What practitioners say about Apollo

The one part of this page that is not a vendor claim. Quotes are transcribed as written, linked to the thread, and nothing here is the only source for a figure in the tables above. Where a comment makes its point in crude words, we summarize it in our own words instead of quoting it.

The rate limit, not the credit price, is what people actually hit

In our words: A practitioner building on the API says the rate limits are what their team hit, that they got past them by routing requests across three Apollo accounts, and that Apollo charges per request even when a lookup returns nothing.

r/gtmengineering · May 2026 · summarized rather than quoted

Two halves worth separating. The limit is real and it is on this page: 200 requests a minute and 2,000 a day on Basic, with enrichment on a separate 1,000 a minute and no daily cap, which is why a bulk job and a per-row loop feel like different products.

The charge-on-no-output half needs care, because Apollo publishes 0 credits when nothing is found and that matches what we read. What a miss does spend is a request against the rate limit, and when the limit is the binding constraint that is the cost you feel. Pooling accounts to get round a published limit is a terms question before it is an engineering one.

The answer to the limit is the bulk endpoint, and it gets missed

Are you using bulk enrichment? You should be able to compress 10 enrichments per call, and based on the documentation I'm reading, the limit should be 600 calls, so that's 6000 total contacts per hour. If you have more, you can write some code to stagger them with 60 minute delays per 6000.

r/gtmengineering · May 2026 · 1 point

This is the right instinct and it is the same one the batch endpoints exist for: ten records in one call is one request against the limit rather than ten. The arithmetic here is this person's reading of Apollo's documentation rather than ours, so check the current bulk limit on Apollo's own reference before sizing a job around 6,000 an hour. The shape of the advice holds whatever the number is.

11 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.

Comparison pages end at the rate card. Your list does not.

We run the bake-off on your actual data, pick the provider order, and build the pipeline behind it: waterfall routing, credit ceilings and the write-back that puts a verified contact in front of a rep the same day.

See the stacks

Worked with 300+ companies. A senior operator runs your account.

FAQ

Apollo and Instantly, answered

Read from the same records that drive the table above.

Is Apollo or Instantly cheaper?

On the entry plan it is Instantly, $47/mo against Apollo at $49/seat/mo. The entry price is the comparable figure, because they do not meter the same thing.

Can I try Apollo and Instantly for free?

Apollo: Free plan with API access, 900 credits per seat per year granted monthly, so 75 a month. Instantly: No free tier. Outreach and Credits are sold separately from $47 each.

What are the rate limits on Apollo and Instantly?

Apollo: 200 req/min, 2,000/day on Basic. Enrichment gets 1,000/min with no daily cap. Instantly: 100 req/s and 6,000/min, shared across v1, v2 and every key in the workspace.

Do Apollo and Instantly both have MCP servers?

Both do. Apollo: https://mcp.apollo.io/mcp. Instantly: https://mcp.instantly.ai/mcp.

Which is better, Apollo or Instantly?

Apollo vs Instantly is a bundling question with a clear answer once you know which half you need. Apollo is $49 a seat for search, enrichment and sequencing on one credit balance, with a free plan at 900 credits a year.

What are the downsides of Apollo and Instantly?

Measured against each other rather than in general. Apollo: none of the structural gaps in this answer; the limits section carries its operational ones. Instantly: there is no free tier, so you cannot measure your own match rate before paying.

Can you use Apollo and Instantly together?

The arrangement that works is Apollo for the data and Instantly for the sending, which is to say Apollo's Credits-equivalent and Instantly's Outreach half, and dropping the two you are duplicating.

Can I migrate from Apollo to Instantly without losing data?

Not without losing a field. Instantly does not return mobile phone, technographics, LinkedIn profile and CRM records, which Apollo does, so anything downstream that reads it has to change. Either way, measure your match rate on 500 rows before you switch, because that number is the one you cannot recover afterwards.

Published by

Frontal

Frontal is the go-to-market partner for B2B tech companies past product-market fit. It publishes this directory. Every price, tier requirement and rate limit on this page was read from the vendor's own pricing page, developer documentation or knowledge base on the date below. Nothing on it is restated from a press release or a third-party listing.

Frontal is an Instantly Certified Expert.

Where a vendor publishes no public figure, this page says so rather than estimating. How we checked.