Skip to content
Head to head · Verified 8 to 19 Oct 2026

Smartlead vs lemlist

Smartlead

Best sending infrastructure $39/mo
vs

lemlist

API, MCP and CLI on the cheapest plan $55/mo annual
Short answer

Smartlead vs lemlist comes down to where each one puts the API, and they land $39 a month apart in lemlist's favor. Smartlead keeps the API and webhooks off its $39 Base plan entirely and starts them at Pro, $94 a month. lemlist puts the API, an MCP server and a CLI on its $55 Email plan, with unlimited users and unlimited email senders alongside them. So for a team that wants to build against the tool from day one, lemlist is both cheaper and better equipped.

Side by side

Where they actually differ

Every value comes from the same record that drives the Sending APIs listing, so this table cannot disagree with the cards. Accented tags are data one provider returns and the other does not.

Compare Smartlead lemlist
What it isUnlimited mailboxes, but the API starts at ProUnlimited users at $55, with the developer tools included
Entry price$39/mo$55/mo annual
Unit costNot sold by the unit$0.0080 per credit
Billing modelSubscriptionSubscription Credit packs
Free tierNo free tier. Free trial, no card. API access starts at the Pro plan.No free tier. 14-day trial.
GTM motion coveredEngageEngage Enrich Signal
Data returned
Work emailCRM records
Work emailMobile phoneLinkedIn profileIntent and newsJob changes
MCP serverYes
https://mcp.smartlead.ai/sse
Yes
https://app.lemlist.com/mcp
InterfacesREST API MCP server Webhooks n8n nodeREST API MCP server Webhooks
AuthAPI key as a query parameterAPI key, with OAuth on the MCP server
Rate limits60 req/min and 1,000/hour per key, 120 and 3,000 on Pro. Three endpoints capped at 10 a minute on top.20 requests per 2 seconds. Retry-After and X-RateLimit headers on every response.
CoverageGlobalGlobal
ComplianceGDPR DPA SOC 2 Type IIGDPR DPA
Best forBest sending infrastructureAPI, MCP and CLI on the cheapest plan
The decision

Pick each one when

Smartlead

  • Sending volume is the purchase: 90,000 sends and automatic mailbox rotation.
  • Unlimited mailboxes with no sender cap on the plan.
  • SOC 2 Type II as well as a GDPR DPA.

lemlist

  • The API matters from the start: $55 against $94, with an MCP server and a CLI.
  • Unlimited users and unlimited contacts rather than metered storage.
  • 650M lead database and intent signals available as add-ons in the same tool.
The test that settles it

A sender's rate card is not the part that bites. Confirm the API is on the plan you intend to buy, then run one real sequence of 200 contacts through each on a mailbox you have already warmed, and compare what the API tells you afterwards: which replies it classifies, what it reports on a bounce, and whether the webhook arrives at all. None of that is on a pricing page.

Plan by plan

What each one costs, tier by tier

Both publish a full rate card, so this comparison runs on numbers rather than on adjectives. Smartlead lists 4 tiers and lemlist lists 5. Every figure is read off the vendor's own pricing page, and the pages they came from are listed at the foot of this one.

The short versionSmartleadlemlist
Cheapest paid planBase, $39Email, $55
Tiers published45
Free tierNo free tier. Free trial, no card. API access starts at the Pro plan.No free tier. 14-day trial.
Unit cost at entryNot sold by the unit$0.008 per credit

The cheapest paid plan is rarely the plan you end up on, because what moves you up a tier is usually volume rather than a feature. The two rate cards below are what you are choosing between.

Smartlead

Smartlead publishes 4 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $39 to $379.

Base

$39
/mo
  • Unlimited email accounts and warmup
  • 2,000 contacts, 6,000 sends a month
  • No API, no webhooks, no CRM

Pro

$94
/mo
  • The first tier with API and webhooks
  • 30,000 contacts, 90,000 sends
  • Client workspaces at $29 each, SmartServers at $39

Unlimited Smart

$174
/mo
  • Unlimited contact storage, 150,000 sends
  • 50,000 verified prospect emails included
  • Premium warmup pool and CSM access

Unlimited Prime

$379
/mo
  • 500,000 sends, 170,000 verified emails
  • 3 SmartServers and 3 client workspaces included
  • Dedicated manager and a private Slack channel

lemlist

lemlist publishes 5 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $55 to Custom.

Email

$55
/mo billed annually, 50,000 emails
  • $69 a month paid monthly
  • Unlimited users and email senders
  • 650M lead database, finder and verifier
  • lemlist MCP and CLI, CRM integrations and API

Multichannel

$87
/user/mo billed annually
  • $109 a month paid monthly
  • Unlimited emails and messages
  • 5 senders per user
  • LinkedIn, SMS and calls

Enrichment add-on

$16
/mo, 2,000 credits
  • $20 a month paid monthly
  • $0.008 a credit, or 400 emails or 100 phones
  • 25+ data providers behind one waterfall

Buying intent add-on

$21
/mo, 100 signals
  • $29 a month paid monthly
  • Real-time alerts when a lead acts

Enterprise

Custom
quote
  • Priced on seats and volume
Cost model

What Smartlead and lemlist cost at your volume

Put your own volume in. The model picks the cheapest published plan that covers it on each side, which is the question a rate card cannot answer and the one that decides the bill.

Smartlead

Priced on the volume you use, so the plan that covers a normal month is the one that decides the bill.

Plan that covers itPro
Monthly$94
Twelve months$1,128
Included90,000 sends
Your rate at this volume$0.0094 per send

lemlist

Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.

Cheapest seat with the APIMultichannel
Per seat$87 a month
Monthly$261 for 3 seats
Twelve months$3,132

Plans are read from each vendor's own pricing page and the model picks the cheapest one that covers you, so these are list prices before any discount you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount.

Twelve months

What a year costs at three volumes

The same plan-fit arithmetic as the model above, run out to a year, because an annual number is what a budget actually asks for. lemlist is priced per seat, so that column does not move with volume. The figure shown is 3 seats for a year.

A year atSmartleadlemlist
1,000 a month$1,128
Pro
$3,132
Multichannel
10,000 a month$1,128
Pro
$3,132
Multichannel
50,000 a month$1,128
Pro
$3,132
Multichannel

2 of the 2 providers here publish enough to be put in this table. These are list prices on the published plan that covers each volume, so they are the number before you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount by between a fifth and a half.

In practice

How this plays out once it is running

What $94 buys on Smartlead is volume: 30,000 contacts and 90,000 sends a month against lemlist's 50,000 emails and unlimited contacts, plus unlimited mailboxes with automatic rotation across every connected account inside a campaign, which is the deliverability feature Smartlead is bought for. lemlist caps Email-plan senders rather than contacts, and its Multichannel tier at $87 adds 5 senders per user along with LinkedIn, SMS, WhatsApp and a dialer.

Throughput is close enough not to decide it: Smartlead allows 60 requests a minute per API key on Standard and 120 on Pro, lemlist allows 20 per 2 seconds, which is 600 a minute. The one Smartlead trap worth knowing is that three analytics endpoints are capped at 10 calls a minute on every plan, and those 429s carry no Retry-After header.

Strengths

What each one is genuinely good at

Not a feature list. These are the things that make somebody keep paying after the novelty has worn off, which is a different question from what the marketing page leads with.

Smartlead

Sending volume is what the plan buys

Ninety thousand sends at Pro, 150,000 at $174, 500,000 at $379, with unlimited mailboxes and automatic rotation inside a campaign. lemlist's Email plan is 50,000 emails a month, so at the top Smartlead is ten times the volume.

No sender cap on the plan

Unlimited mailboxes with no per-mailbox charge and no published ratio. lemlist's Multichannel plan allows five senders per user, which is a different shape and a real ceiling for a cold operation.

SOC 2 Type II alongside the GDPR DPA

lemlist's record here carries the GDPR DPA alone. For a procurement review that asks for a security certification by name, that is the published difference.

lemlist

The API starts at $55, not $94

And it comes with a CLI as well as an MCP server, where Smartlead's MCP server speaks SSE only. Smartlead's Base at $39 has no API at all, so a programmatic build is $94 there against $55 here, with a wider agent-facing surface for the lower price.

Unlimited users and unlimited contacts

On the $55 Email plan, where Smartlead meters contact storage below the Unlimited tiers. If the list is large and the team is several people, lemlist's shape fits and the price difference runs the other way.

A 650M lead database, with enrichment and intent as add-ons

Finder and verifier on the Email plan, enrichment at $16 a month for 2,000 credits and buying intent at $21 for 100 signals. One tool rather than a sender plus a data vendor.

Limits

Where each one falls down

Every provider on this site has a case it handles badly, and the people who find out are the ones who bought it for that case. These are the ones worth knowing before you sign rather than after.

Smartlead

The API is not on the entry plan

Base at $39 has no API and no webhooks. The headline price describes a product this directory is not about, and the real entry for a build is $94.

Sixty requests a minute

Against lemlist's 10 a second, which is six times the throughput. For sending that rarely matters and for a backfill it decides how the client is written.

lemlist

Ten requests a second is the ceiling

Faster than Smartlead and slower than the senders built for volume. For a reconciliation job across a large list, that is the number to plan around.

Multichannel is per user

Eighty-seven dollars a user a month against the Email plan's flat $55 with unlimited users. A three-person team wanting LinkedIn and calls is $261, which is a different price class from the comparison most people make.

Fifty thousand emails a month on the Email plan

A real ceiling for a volume operation, where Smartlead's ladder runs to 500,000. The Multichannel plan is unlimited and is priced per user.

Both

Using Smartlead and lemlist together

A two-way comparison assumes the answer is one of them. On this pairing it often is not, and the arrangement below is what teams actually end up running.

Both send email and both bundle data, so running both duplicates two things at once. The choice is between volume and the API price.

If the build matters from day one and the volume is moderate, lemlist at $55 with an MCP server and a CLI is the cheaper and wider programmatic surface. If sending volume is the purchase, Smartlead Pro at $94 buys nearly twice the sends and unlimited mailboxes with rotation, and the API cost difference stops mattering at that scale.

If both are already running, consolidate the data side first. lemlist's $16 enrichment add-on and Smartlead's included verified emails on the Unlimited tiers are the same job bought twice.

Decide

Smartlead or lemlist, for you

Five questions, answered from the same records as the rest of this page. Nothing is sent anywhere and there is no result to email yourself.

Do you need CRM records?
How many people will touch this?
Are you buying one step or the whole motion?
Do you need SOC 2 Type II published up front?
Is there budget approved for this yet?
Answer the questions above

Each answer leans one way. The recommendation appears here once you have picked at least two.

A tool like this can only weigh what is on the page. It does not know your segment, and the one test that does is the bake-off further down: real rows, cheapest entry on each side, spend divided by survivors.

Where an answer leans on a certification or an integration, it means that vendor publishes it on the pages this directory read, which is not the same as the other one lacking it. The sources are listed at the foot of the page.

Provenance

Where the data comes from, and what you may do with it

The question that arrives late and expensively is not how good the data is, it is who is allowed to hold it. These are the fields each one returns, the coverage it claims and the compliance it publishes.

ProviderFields returnedCoverageComplianceRedistribution
SmartleadWork email, CRM recordsGlobalGDPR DPA SOC 2 Type IINot stated
lemlistWork email, Mobile phone, LinkedIn profile, Intent and news, Job changesGlobalGDPR DPANot stated

None of these states a redistribution position on its pricing or docs pages. Internally that never matters. Put the rows in something your customers can see and it becomes the question your legal team asks first.

Two practical notes that apply to every provider on this page. A compliance badge describes the vendor, not your use of it, so a GDPR DPA does not give you a lawful basis for the outreach you send. And every one of these vendors runs its own opt-out, which means a person who asks you to delete their record has to be removed from your copy as well as from theirs.

Migration

Moving between Smartlead and lemlist

Most readers of this page are already on one of these two. A swap is four hours of code and a month of watching, and the order below is the one that catches the expensive mistakes while they are still free.

01

Measure the thing you are about to lose

Run 500 rows you already have through Smartlead and record the match rate, the fields that came back populated and the cost. Without that number a migration cannot be judged, because every provider looks cheaper per unit than the one you are paying for today.

02

Check the fields, not the field count

lemlist does not return CRM records, which Smartlead does. If anything downstream reads crm records, that is a change to your pipeline and not just to your vendor.

03

Rewrite the auth and the limits, in that order

Smartlead authenticates with API key as a query parameter. lemlist uses API key, with OAuth on the MCP server.

The limits are the part that bites later. Smartlead rate: 60 req/min and 1,000/hour per key, 120 and 3,000 on Pro. Three endpoints capped at 10 a minute on top.

lemlist rate: 20 requests per 2 seconds. Retry-After and X-RateLimit headers on every response. A loop tuned to the first will either crawl or get throttled on the second.

04

Run both for one billing cycle

Keep the old key live and route a slice of real traffic to the new one. A month is the shortest honest test, because credit expiry, rollover and the overage rate only show up at renewal and those are where the surprises live.

05

Cancel on the renewal date, not before

Credits on most of these plans do not survive a downgrade. Check what happens to the balance you have already paid for, and time the switch so you are not buying the same records twice.

The step people skip is the first one, and it is the only one that cannot be done after the fact. Once the old key is off you have nothing to compare the new match rate against, so a provider that is quietly worse on your segment looks like a provider that is fine.

What practitioners say

What practitioners say about Smartlead

The one part of this page that is not a vendor claim. Quotes are transcribed as written, linked to the thread, and nothing here is the only source for a figure in the tables above.

The sending tool is not what decides deliverability

To be clear, instantly Apollo and smartleads are all just front end management tools for campaign, lead list, and sending triggering through any API/SMTP servers (like Gmail, M365, sendgrid, SES, etc.) and they shouldn't have a direct effect on deliverability. Your email copy, leads, and sending patterns/volume are what matters the most

r/Emailmarketing · June 2024 · 5 points

The most useful correction on this page, and it applies to every sending provider in the directory rather than to Smartlead alone. These products schedule, rotate and report; the mail still leaves through Google, Microsoft or an SMTP relay, and the things that decide placement are the domain, the authentication, the list and the volume curve.

What that means for a comparison like this one is that the feature lists are not where the difference lives. Compare the mailbox economics, the webhook surface and what the API lets you automate, because those are the parts the vendor actually controls.

14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.

Comparison pages end at the rate card. Your list does not.

We run the bake-off on your actual data, pick the provider order, and build the pipeline behind it: waterfall routing, credit ceilings and the write-back that puts a verified contact in front of a rep the same day.

See the stacks

Worked with 300+ companies. A senior operator runs your account.

FAQ

Smartlead and lemlist, answered

Read from the same records that drive the table above.

Is Smartlead or lemlist cheaper?

On the entry plan it is Smartlead, $39/mo against lemlist at $55/mo annual. The entry price is the comparable figure, because they do not meter the same thing.

Can I try Smartlead and lemlist for free?

Smartlead: No free tier. Free trial, no card. API access starts at the Pro plan. lemlist: No free tier. 14-day trial.

What are the rate limits on Smartlead and lemlist?

Smartlead: 60 req/min and 1,000/hour per key, 120 and 3,000 on Pro. Three endpoints capped at 10 a minute on top. lemlist: 20 requests per 2 seconds. Retry-After and X-RateLimit headers on every response.

Do Smartlead and lemlist both have MCP servers?

Both do. Smartlead: https://mcp.smartlead.ai/sse. lemlist: https://app.lemlist.com/mcp.

Which is better, Smartlead or lemlist?

Smartlead vs lemlist comes down to where each one puts the API, and they land $39 a month apart in lemlist's favor. Smartlead keeps the API and webhooks off its $39 Base plan entirely and starts them at Pro, $94 a month.

What are the downsides of Smartlead and lemlist?

Measured against each other rather than in general. Smartlead: there is no free tier, only a trial, so test your own list inside its limits before paying. lemlist: there is no free tier, only a trial, so test your own list inside its limits before paying.

Can you use Smartlead and lemlist together?

Both send email and both bundle data, so running both duplicates two things at once. The choice is between volume and the API price.

Can I migrate from Smartlead to lemlist without losing data?

Not without losing a field. lemlist does not return CRM records, which Smartlead does, so anything downstream that reads it has to change. Either way, measure your match rate on 500 rows before you switch, because that number is the one you cannot recover afterwards.

Published by

Frontal

Frontal is the go-to-market partner for B2B tech companies past product-market fit. It publishes this directory. Every price, tier requirement and rate limit on this page was read from the vendor's own pricing page, developer documentation or knowledge base on the date below. Nothing on it is restated from a press release or a third-party listing.

Frontal is a lemlist Certified Service Partner.

Where a vendor publishes no public figure, this page says so rather than estimating. How we checked.

Reviewed by

Kenny Damian

Co-founder & Head of GTM, Frontal

Verified
8 to 19 Oct 2026
Sources
5 vendor documents