Instantly vs Outreach
Outreach
The most complete MCP server published by a GTM vendor Quote onlyInstantly vs Outreach is not really a shortlist, it is two different purchases that happen to both send email. Instantly is $47 a month on a card, unlimited mailboxes, 100 requests a second against a plain REST API, and an API key you can generate in a minute. Outreach publishes no price at all: seats are quoted and AI work is metered in consumption credits, with Amplify Plus including 50,000 of them. So the choice is about which problem you have: cold outbound volume is Instantly, and an enterprise revenue team whose sequencer has to sit inside forecasting and deal management is Outreach, with a salesperson in the path.
Where they actually differ
Every value comes from the same record that drives the Sending APIs listing, so this table cannot disagree with the cards. Accented tags are data one provider returns and the other does not.
| Compare | Instantly | Outreach |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Sending and data sold separately, or bundled | Quote only, OAuth only, and 32 MCP tools |
| Entry price | $47/mo | Quote only |
| Unit cost | Not sold by the unit | Not sold by the unit |
| Billing model | Subscription Credit packs | Per seat Credit packs |
| Free tier | No free tier. Outreach and Credits are sold separately from $47 each. | No free tier and no published trial. |
| GTM motion covered | Source Enrich Engage | Engage Sync |
| Data returned | Work emailFirmographicsJob postingsIntent and news | Work emailMobile phoneCRM records |
| MCP server | Yes https://mcp.instantly.ai/mcp | Yes Hosted, OAuth 2.1 with DCR |
| Interfaces | REST API MCP server Webhooks Bulk or async n8n node | REST API MCP server Webhooks Bulk or async |
| Auth | Bearer token, from a scoped API v2 key in workspace settings | OAuth 2.0 with scoped tokens. No API key option |
| Rate limits | 100 req/s and 6,000/min, shared across v1, v2 and every key in the workspace. | No request rate published. Page size caps at 1,000 and offset at 10,000. |
| Coverage | Global | Global |
| Compliance | GDPR DPA | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II |
| Best for | Best for unlimited mailboxes and warmup | The most complete MCP server published by a GTM vendor |
Pick each one when
Instantly
- Cold outbound at volume, bought on a card today.
- 100 requests a second and an API key rather than an OAuth app.
- Unlimited mailboxes and warmup, which Outreach does not sell.
Outreach
- An agent needs 32 OAuth-scoped tools rather than a REST client you write.
- Forecasting, deal management and conversation intelligence around the sequencing.
- Data warehouse export through Snowflake or Delta Sharing.
A sender's rate card is not the part that bites. Confirm the API is on the plan you intend to buy, then run one real sequence of 200 contacts through each on a mailbox you have already warmed, and compare what the API tells you afterwards: which replies it classifies, what it reports on a bounce, and whether the webhook arrives at all. None of that is on a pricing page.
What each one costs, tier by tier
Only one of these two publishes a rate card. Instantly lists its tiers, and Outreach quotes everything, so half of this comparison is a number you have to go and get. Every figure is read off the vendor's own pricing page, and the pages they came from are listed at the foot of this one.
| The short version | Instantly | Outreach |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | Outreach only, $47 | Not published |
| Tiers published | 4 | None |
| Free tier | No free tier. Outreach and Credits are sold separately from $47 each. | No free tier and no published trial. |
| Unit cost at entry | Not sold by the unit | Not sold by the unit |
The cheapest paid plan is rarely the plan you end up on, because what moves you up a tier is usually volume rather than a feature, and the two cards below say what each side publishes and what it keeps off the page.
Instantly
Instantly publishes 4 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $47 to $194.
Outreach only
- Unlimited email accounts and warmup
- 5,000 emails, 1,000 uploaded contacts
- No database access
Credits only
- 1,500 credits a month
- 450M contact database and waterfall enrichment
- No sending
Starter bundle
- Both halves, at the same combined price
- 5,000 emails, 1,000 contacts, 1,500 credits
- AI Sales Agent
Scale bundle
- 100,000 emails, 25,000 uploaded contacts
- 5,000 credits a month
- AI Reply Agent and premium live support
Outreach
Outreach publishes no price at all, so there is no rate card to put here. Everything is quoted, which means the number you get depends on what you ask for and on where in their quarter you ask it.
Get these in writing before you sign: the per-unit rate at your volume, the annual minimum, how many seats that price assumes, whether API access is included or an add-on. Without the first two you cannot compare this against anything else on this page.
What Instantly and Outreach cost at your volume
Put your own volume in. The model picks the cheapest published plan that covers it on each side, which is the question a rate card cannot answer and the one that decides the bill.
Instantly
Priced on the volume you use, so the plan that covers a normal month is the one that decides the bill.
Outreach
Publishes no price, so there is nothing here to model and the lines below say what to ask for.
Plans are read from each vendor's own pricing page and the model picks the cheapest one that covers you, so these are list prices before any discount you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount. Outreach publishes no price, so nothing is modeled there and the panel says what to ask for instead.
What a year costs at three volumes
The same plan-fit arithmetic as the model above, run out to a year, because an annual number is what a budget actually asks for. Every column moves with volume, because all of these meter usage rather than seats.
| A year at | Instantly | Outreach |
|---|---|---|
| 1,000 a month | $564 Outreach only | Quoted |
| 10,000 a month | $2,328 Scale bundle | Quoted |
| 50,000 a month | $2,328 Scale bundle | Quoted |
1 of the 2 providers here publish enough to be put in this table. These are list prices on the published plan that covers each volume, so they are the number before you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount by between a fifth and a half.
How this plays out once it is running
What Outreach has that nothing else in this directory does is the platform surface. The REST API follows JSON:API 1.0 behind OAuth 2.0 with per-token scopes and no API key option, there is a Snowflake and Delta Sharing data export, and the MCP server carries 32 tools with OAuth 2.1, PKCE and dynamic client registration, which is one of the more complete implementations a GTM vendor has published.
It also declines to publish a request rate limit, documenting a maximum page size of 1,000 and a maximum offset of 10,000 instead, with count queries throttled under load. If an agent needs OAuth-scoped tools, that is a trade worth making. If you are sizing a batch job, it means designing against pagination rather than against a request budget.
What each one is genuinely good at
Not a feature list. These are the things that make somebody keep paying after the novelty has worn off, which is a different question from what the marketing page leads with.
Instantly
You can buy it today, on a card
Forty-seven dollars a half, published, with no sales conversation. Outreach quotes everything, so the evaluation cost of finding out what it costs is itself part of the comparison.
A hundred requests a second and an API key
Rather than an OAuth application you register and maintain. For a small team wiring up a pipeline, that is the difference between an afternoon and a project.
Unlimited mailboxes and warmup, which Outreach does not sell
Outreach is a sales engagement platform built around reps and a process; it is not sending infrastructure for cold outbound across dozens of domains, and it does not try to be.
Outreach
An MCP server with scoped OAuth
Thirty-two OAuth-scoped tools with PKCE and dynamic client registration. Instantly's server covers its whole API from an API key, so the difference is the auth model rather than whether an agent can work inside the platform.
Forecasting, deal management and conversation intelligence
The product around the sequencer is what the money buys. Comparing it against a cold email sender on sending features misses the purchase entirely.
Warehouse export through Snowflake or Delta Sharing
Rather than pulling records through the API a page at a time. For an organization that already runs a warehouse, that is a different and much better integration story.
Where each one falls down
Every provider on this site has a case it handles badly, and the people who find out are the ones who bought it for that case. These are the ones worth knowing before you sign rather than after.
Instantly
No management layer at all
No forecasting, no conversation intelligence, no process a manager owns. Instantly is sending infrastructure, and for an organization that needs the rest, the price difference is buying a different category of product.
Reply handling may sit on a higher plan
Instantly's pricing page lists Unibox replies against the $194 Scale bundle rather than the $47 halves, which is worth checking before assuming the cheap tier covers a two-way conversation.
Outreach
Nothing is published
No seat price, no tier list, no rate card. For anyone trying to place Outreach on a cost axis against the rest of this directory, it cannot be done without a sales process.
An OAuth application rather than an API key
Which is the right security model and is also a registration, a review and a maintenance burden. For a two-person team wiring up one pipeline, it is a disproportionate amount of ceremony.
It does not do cold outbound infrastructure
No unlimited mailboxes, no warmup pool, no per-domain sending model. Buying Outreach to run high-volume cold email is using an enterprise sales platform for a job it was not built for.
Using Instantly and Outreach together
A two-way comparison assumes the answer is one of them. On this pairing it often is not, and the arrangement below is what teams actually end up running.
These are bought by different organizations for different reasons, and the pairing does appear: an enterprise running Outreach for its named-account motion and Instantly for a separate high-volume cold channel.
That works because the two motions do not share a list. If they do, the deliverability risk sits on the Outreach side, since a cold channel burning domain reputation can affect the mail your reps send from the same domains. Use separate sending domains for the cold motion, which is what Instantly's unlimited mailbox model is for anyway.
If you only buy one, let the buyer decide rather than the feature list. A sales organization with managers and a forecast buys Outreach; a growth team running volume buys Instantly, and neither will be happy with the other's product.
Instantly or Outreach, for you
Three questions, answered from the same records as the rest of this page. Nothing is sent anywhere and there is no result to email yourself.
Each answer leans one way. The recommendation appears here once you have picked at least two.
A tool like this can only weigh what is on the page. It does not know your segment, and the one test that does is the bake-off further down: real rows, cheapest entry on each side, spend divided by survivors.
Where an answer leans on a certification or an integration, it means that vendor publishes it on the pages this directory read, which is not the same as the other one lacking it. The sources are listed at the foot of the page.
Where the data comes from, and what you may do with it
The question that arrives late and expensively is not how good the data is, it is who is allowed to hold it. These are the fields each one returns, the coverage it claims and the compliance it publishes.
| Provider | Fields returned | Coverage | Compliance | Redistribution |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Instantly | Work email, Firmographics, Job postings, Intent and news | Global | GDPR DPA | Not stated |
| Outreach | Work email, Mobile phone, CRM records | Global | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II | Not stated |
None of these states a redistribution position on its pricing or docs pages. Internally that never matters. Put the rows in something your customers can see and it becomes the question your legal team asks first.
Two practical notes that apply to every provider on this page. A compliance badge describes the vendor, not your use of it, so a GDPR DPA does not give you a lawful basis for the outreach you send. And every one of these vendors runs its own opt-out, which means a person who asks you to delete their record has to be removed from your copy as well as from theirs.
Moving between Instantly and Outreach
Most readers of this page are already on one of these two. A swap is four hours of code and a month of watching, and the order below is the one that catches the expensive mistakes while they are still free.
Measure the thing you are about to lose
Run 500 rows you already have through Instantly and record the match rate, the fields that came back populated and the cost. Without that number a migration cannot be judged, because every provider looks cheaper per unit than the one you are paying for today.
Check the fields, not the field count
Outreach does not return Firmographics, Job postings and Intent and news, which Instantly does. If anything downstream reads firmographics, that is a change to your pipeline and not just to your vendor.
Rewrite the auth and the limits, in that order
Instantly authenticates with bearer token, from a scoped API v2 key in workspace settings. Outreach uses OAuth 2.0 with scoped tokens. No API key option.
The limits are the part that bites later. Instantly rate: 100 req/s and 6,000/min, shared across v1, v2 and every key in the workspace.
Outreach rate: No request rate published. Page size caps at 1,000 and offset at 10,000. A loop tuned to the first will either crawl or get throttled on the second.
Run both for one billing cycle
Keep the old key live and route a slice of real traffic to the new one. A month is the shortest honest test, because credit expiry, rollover and the overage rate only show up at renewal and those are where the surprises live.
Cancel on the renewal date, not before
Credits on most of these plans do not survive a downgrade. Check what happens to the balance you have already paid for, and time the switch so you are not buying the same records twice.
The step people skip is the first one, and it is the only one that cannot be done after the fact. Once the old key is off you have nothing to compare the new match rate against, so a provider that is quietly worse on your segment looks like a provider that is fine.
The wider field for both
A two-way comparison assumes the answer is one of these two. Often it is not, and the reason you are comparing them at all points somewhere else entirely: Instantly alternatives and Outreach alternatives both start from the reason people leave.
Instantly alternatives
4Unlimited mailboxes is the reason to buy it. The contact ceiling and the missing free tier are why people look.
See the alternatives →Outreach alternatives
3The strongest API surface in the category, on a rate card you have to ask for.
See the alternatives →Everything in Engage
10The full category these two sit in, filtered by data returned, billing model and entry price.
Browse the category →Related comparisons
The 26 providers behind every pairing here are in the main listing.
Pairings that share a side with this one: Instantly vs lemlist, Instantly vs Saleshandy and Instantly vs QuickMail.
And: Instantly vs Woodpecker and Instantly vs Reply.io. Every comparison in the directory is on the compare hub.
Apollo API vs Instantly
One seat that does everything against two subscriptions that each do one thing well.
Compare them →Smartlead vs Instantly
The two senders that both give you unlimited mailboxes, gating the API in opposite ways.
Compare them →Instantly vs Reply.io
Unlimited mailboxes with no stated ceiling against unlimited mailboxes with a published ratio.
Compare them →Comparison pages end at the rate card. Your list does not.
We run the bake-off on your actual data, pick the provider order, and build the pipeline behind it: waterfall routing, credit ceilings and the write-back that puts a verified contact in front of a rep the same day.
Worked with 300+ companies. A senior operator runs your account.
Instantly and Outreach, answered
Read from the same records that drive the table above.
Is Instantly or Outreach cheaper?
Outreach does not publish a price at any tier, so the two cannot be compared on cost. Instantly starts at $47/mo, which is as far as the comparison goes.
Can I try Instantly and Outreach for free?
Instantly: No free tier. Outreach and Credits are sold separately from $47 each. Outreach: No free tier and no published trial.
What are the rate limits on Instantly and Outreach?
Instantly: 100 req/s and 6,000/min, shared across v1, v2 and every key in the workspace. Outreach: No request rate published. Page size caps at 1,000 and offset at 10,000.
Do Instantly and Outreach both have MCP servers?
Both do. Instantly: https://mcp.instantly.ai/mcp. Outreach: Hosted, OAuth 2.1 with DCR.
Which is better, Instantly or Outreach?
Instantly vs Outreach is not really a shortlist, it is two different purchases that happen to both send email. Instantly is $47 a month on a card, unlimited mailboxes, 100 requests a second against a plain REST API, and an API key you can generate in a minute.
What are the downsides of Instantly and Outreach?
Measured against each other rather than in general. Instantly: there is no free tier, so you cannot measure your own match rate before paying. Outreach: there is no free tier, so you cannot measure your own match rate before paying; nothing is priced publicly, so every comparison starts with a sales call.
Can you use Instantly and Outreach together?
These are bought by different organizations for different reasons, and the pairing does appear: an enterprise running Outreach for its named-account motion and Instantly for a separate high-volume cold channel.
Can I migrate from Instantly to Outreach without losing data?
Not without losing a field. Outreach does not return firmographics, job postings and intent and news, which Instantly does, so anything downstream that reads it has to change. Either way, measure your match rate on 500 rows before you switch, because that number is the one you cannot recover afterwards.