Smartlead vs QuickMail
Smartlead
Best sending infrastructure $39/QuickMail
The only GraphQL API in this directory $49/Smartlead vs QuickMail make the same mistake from the buyer's point of view and charge almost the same for it. Neither puts the API on the entry plan: Smartlead starts it at Pro, $94 a month, and QuickMail at Growth, $99. So the headline figures of $39 and $49 are both irrelevant to anybody building an integration, and the real comparison is $94 against $99.
Where they actually differ
Every value comes from the same record that drives the Sending APIs listing, so this table cannot disagree with the cards. Accented tags are data one provider returns and the other does not.
| Compare | Smartlead | QuickMail |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Unlimited mailboxes, but the API starts at Pro | GraphQL, unlimited seats, and webhooks only at $299 |
| Entry price | $39/mo | $49/mo |
| Unit cost | Not sold by the unit | Not sold by the unit |
| Billing model | Subscription | Subscription |
| Free tier | No free tier. Free trial, no card. API access starts at the Pro plan. | No free tier. 14-day trial and no automatic charge when it ends. |
| GTM motion covered | Engage | Engage |
| Data returned | Work emailCRM records | Work emailLinkedIn profile |
| MCP server | Yes https://mcp.smartlead.ai/sse | No |
| Interfaces | REST API MCP server Webhooks n8n node | REST API Webhooks |
| Auth | API key as a query parameter | API key in an Authorization header |
| Rate limits | 60 req/min and 1,000/hour per key, 120 and 3,000 on Pro. Three endpoints capped at 10 a minute on top. | Not published. The public API reference is no longer reachable. |
| Coverage | Global | Global |
| Compliance | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II | GDPR DPA |
| Best for | Best sending infrastructure | The only GraphQL API in this directory |
Pick each one when
Smartlead
- Webhooks at $94 rather than $299.
- Rate limits published, with headers and backoff guidance.
- Mailboxes, domains and inbox placement testing bought inside the product.
QuickMail
- Unlimited LinkedIn accounts alongside the unlimited mailboxes and users.
- A GraphQL API, if that fits your client better than REST.
- 500,000 emails a month at the top tier against Smartlead Pro's 90,000.
A sender's rate card is not the part that bites. Confirm the API is on the plan you intend to buy, then run one real sequence of 200 contacts through each on a mailbox you have already warmed, and compare what the API tells you afterwards: which replies it classifies, what it reports on a bounce, and whether the webhook arrives at all. None of that is on a pricing page.
What each one costs, tier by tier
Both publish a full rate card, so this comparison runs on numbers rather than on adjectives. Smartlead lists 4 tiers and QuickMail lists 3. Every figure is read off the vendor's own pricing page, and the pages they came from are listed at the foot of this one.
| The short version | Smartlead | QuickMail |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | Base, $39 | Starter, $49 |
| Tiers published | 4 | 3 |
| Free tier | No free tier. Free trial, no card. API access starts at the Pro plan. | No free tier. 14-day trial and no automatic charge when it ends. |
| Unit cost at entry | Not sold by the unit | Not sold by the unit |
The cheapest paid plan is rarely the plan you end up on, because what moves you up a tier is usually volume rather than a feature. The two rate cards below are what you are choosing between.
Smartlead
Smartlead publishes 4 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $39 to $379.
Base
- Unlimited email accounts and warmup
- 2,000 contacts, 6,000 sends a month
- No API, no webhooks, no CRM
Pro
- The first tier with API and webhooks
- 30,000 contacts, 90,000 sends
- Client workspaces at $29 each, SmartServers at $39
Unlimited Smart
- Unlimited contact storage, 150,000 sends
- 50,000 verified prospect emails included
- Premium warmup pool and CSM access
Unlimited Prime
- 500,000 sends, 170,000 verified emails
- 3 SmartServers and 3 client workspaces included
- Dedicated manager and a private Slack channel
QuickMail
QuickMail publishes 3 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $49 to $299.
Starter
- Unlimited email senders, LinkedIn accounts and users
- 1 workspace, 1,000 uploaded contacts
- Free AutoWarmer with MailFlow
- Zapier, but no API
Growth
- The first tier with the API
- 25,000 uploaded contacts
- Unlimited senders and users
- Priority support
Agency
- API and webhooks
- 2 workspaces, $49 for each extra
- 100,000 uploaded contacts
What Smartlead and QuickMail cost at your volume
Put your own volume in. The model picks the cheapest published plan that covers it on each side, which is the question a rate card cannot answer and the one that decides the bill.
Smartlead
Priced on the volume you use, so the plan that covers a normal month is the one that decides the bill.
QuickMail
Priced on the volume you use, so the plan that covers a normal month is the one that decides the bill.
Plans are read from each vendor's own pricing page and the model picks the cheapest one that covers you, so these are list prices before any discount you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount.
What a year costs at three volumes
The same plan-fit arithmetic as the model above, run out to a year, because an annual number is what a budget actually asks for. Every column moves with volume, because all of these meter usage rather than seats.
| A year at | Smartlead | QuickMail |
|---|---|---|
| 1,000 a month | $1,128 Pro | $1,188 Growth |
| 10,000 a month | $1,128 Pro | $1,188 Growth |
| 50,000 a month | $1,128 Pro | $1,188 Growth |
2 of the 2 providers here publish enough to be put in this table. These are list prices on the published plan that covers each volume, so they are the number before you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount by between a fifth and a half.
How this plays out once it is running
At that price QuickMail gives 25,000 uploaded contacts and 100,000 emails a month with unlimited users, unlimited mailboxes and unlimited LinkedIn accounts; Smartlead gives 30,000 contacts and 90,000 sends with unlimited mailboxes and no LinkedIn at all. QuickMail then goes further than anyone in holding webhooks back for the $299 Agency plan, where Smartlead includes them with the API at Pro. That is the gap that decides most builds, because a sender you cannot subscribe to reply events on has to be polled.
The API styles also differ: Smartlead is REST with the key in a query parameter and a published two-layer rate limit, QuickMail is GraphQL with a GraphiQL explorer and no reachable public reference. Smartlead also sells the infrastructure, mailboxes and domains and inbox placement testing, which QuickMail leaves to MailFlow and to you.
What each one is genuinely good at
Not a feature list. These are the things that make somebody keep paying after the novelty has worn off, which is a different question from what the marketing page leads with.
Smartlead
Webhooks at $94 rather than $299
QuickMail puts the API on Growth at $99 and holds webhooks for Agency at $299. Smartlead ships both at Pro, $94, so for an event-driven build the entry cost differs by more than three times.
Rate limits published, with headers and backoff guidance
Sixty a minute, documented, with example code. QuickMail's GraphQL API does not publish an equivalent figure, so the throughput is something you measure rather than plan.
Mailboxes, domains and inbox placement testing inside the product
Bought rather than assembled. QuickMail bundles AutoWarmer through MailFlow, which is good, and the surrounding deliverability tooling is narrower.
QuickMail
Unlimited LinkedIn accounts alongside the mailboxes
On every plan including the $49 Starter. Smartlead does not automate LinkedIn at all, so for a multichannel motion QuickMail covers a channel that is absent from the other side entirely.
A GraphQL API
One request shaped to what you need rather than several REST calls stitched together. For a team that already runs GraphQL clients that removes a layer; for one that does not, it adds a learning curve.
Five times the sending at the top tier
Five hundred thousand emails a month on the $299 Agency plan with 100,000 uploaded contacts, against Smartlead Pro's 90,000 at $94. Smartlead's own Unlimited Prime reaches 500,000 at $379, so the two converge at the top and QuickMail is cheaper there.
Where each one falls down
Every provider on this site has a case it handles badly, and the people who find out are the ones who bought it for that case. These are the ones worth knowing before you sign rather than after.
Smartlead
No LinkedIn automation
Smartlead sends email. If LinkedIn is part of the motion it lives in a third product, and this comparison only covers part of the stack.
The API is at the second tier
Base at $39 has neither API nor webhooks. Both start at Pro at $94, which is the number to compare against QuickMail's $99 rather than against its $49.
QuickMail
Webhooks are held for the $299 plan
The only product in this directory that separates the API from webhooks across two tiers. An event-driven build on QuickMail costs $299 a month, which is three times Smartlead's.
Starter has no API at all
At $49 with 5,000 emails and 1,000 contacts, it is the cheapest plan on the page and not a programmatic product.
No published rate limits
For a GraphQL API where a single query can be arbitrarily expensive, the absence of a published ceiling is more consequential than it would be on REST.
Using Smartlead and QuickMail together
A two-way comparison assumes the answer is one of them. On this pairing it often is not, and the arrangement below is what teams actually end up running.
Both gate the API behind the second tier and land within $5 of each other doing it, so the price comparison is a wash and the decision is about shape.
LinkedIn is the thing that most often makes this a real choice rather than a coin toss: QuickMail covers it and Smartlead does not. Webhooks are the thing that most often makes it the other way, because Smartlead ships them at $94 and QuickMail at $299.
If you need both LinkedIn and webhooks, the honest answer is that neither does both cheaply, and the usual stack is Smartlead for email with a dedicated LinkedIn tool alongside it.
Smartlead or QuickMail, for you
Four questions, answered from the same records as the rest of this page. Nothing is sent anywhere and there is no result to email yourself.
Each answer leans one way. The recommendation appears here once you have picked at least two.
A tool like this can only weigh what is on the page. It does not know your segment, and the one test that does is the bake-off further down: real rows, cheapest entry on each side, spend divided by survivors.
Where an answer leans on a certification or an integration, it means that vendor publishes it on the pages this directory read, which is not the same as the other one lacking it. The sources are listed at the foot of the page.
Where the data comes from, and what you may do with it
The question that arrives late and expensively is not how good the data is, it is who is allowed to hold it. These are the fields each one returns, the coverage it claims and the compliance it publishes.
| Provider | Fields returned | Coverage | Compliance | Redistribution |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smartlead | Work email, CRM records | Global | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II | Not stated |
| QuickMail | Work email, LinkedIn profile | Global | GDPR DPA | Not stated |
None of these states a redistribution position on its pricing or docs pages. Internally that never matters. Put the rows in something your customers can see and it becomes the question your legal team asks first.
Two practical notes that apply to every provider on this page. A compliance badge describes the vendor, not your use of it, so a GDPR DPA does not give you a lawful basis for the outreach you send. And every one of these vendors runs its own opt-out, which means a person who asks you to delete their record has to be removed from your copy as well as from theirs.
Moving between Smartlead and QuickMail
Most readers of this page are already on one of these two. A swap is four hours of code and a month of watching, and the order below is the one that catches the expensive mistakes while they are still free.
Measure the thing you are about to lose
Run 500 rows you already have through Smartlead and record the match rate, the fields that came back populated and the cost. Without that number a migration cannot be judged, because every provider looks cheaper per unit than the one you are paying for today.
Check the fields, not the field count
QuickMail does not return CRM records, which Smartlead does. If anything downstream reads crm records, that is a change to your pipeline and not just to your vendor.
Rewrite the auth and the limits, in that order
Smartlead authenticates with API key as a query parameter. QuickMail uses API key in an Authorization header.
The limits are the part that bites later. Smartlead rate: 60 req/min and 1,000/hour per key, 120 and 3,000 on Pro. Three endpoints capped at 10 a minute on top.
QuickMail rate: Not published. The public API reference is no longer reachable. A loop tuned to the first will either crawl or get throttled on the second.
Run both for one billing cycle
Keep the old key live and route a slice of real traffic to the new one. A month is the shortest honest test, because credit expiry, rollover and the overage rate only show up at renewal and those are where the surprises live.
Cancel on the renewal date, not before
Credits on most of these plans do not survive a downgrade. Check what happens to the balance you have already paid for, and time the switch so you are not buying the same records twice.
The step people skip is the first one, and it is the only one that cannot be done after the fact. Once the old key is off you have nothing to compare the new match rate against, so a provider that is quietly worse on your segment looks like a provider that is fine.
What practitioners say about Smartlead
The one part of this page that is not a vendor claim. Quotes are transcribed as written, linked to the thread, and nothing here is the only source for a figure in the tables above.
The sending tool is not what decides deliverability
To be clear, instantly Apollo and smartleads are all just front end management tools for campaign, lead list, and sending triggering through any API/SMTP servers (like Gmail, M365, sendgrid, SES, etc.) and they shouldn't have a direct effect on deliverability. Your email copy, leads, and sending patterns/volume are what matters the most
r/Emailmarketing · June 2024 · 5 points
The most useful correction on this page, and it applies to every sending provider in the directory rather than to Smartlead alone. These products schedule, rotate and report; the mail still leaves through Google, Microsoft or an SMTP relay, and the things that decide placement are the domain, the authentication, the list and the volume curve.
What that means for a comparison like this one is that the feature lists are not where the difference lives. Compare the mailbox economics, the webhook surface and what the API lets you automate, because those are the parts the vendor actually controls.
14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.
Where each one sits in a working pipeline
Neither of these is bought in isolation. These are the worked stacks on this site that use one or both, with the cost run end to end.
Hiring signal to outbound
$0.13A company hiring three SDRs has already decided to spend. Turn that job posting into a sequenced contact inside a day.
Inbound speed to lead
<60sForm submission to enriched, verified, routed and sequenced in under a minute, with no human in the path.
The wider field for both
A two-way comparison assumes the answer is one of these two. Often it is not, and the reason you are comparing them at all points somewhere else entirely: Smartlead alternatives both start from the reason people leave.
Related comparisons
The 26 providers behind every pairing here are in the main listing.
Pairings that share a side with this one: Smartlead vs lemlist, Instantly vs QuickMail and Smartlead vs Saleshandy.
And: Findymail vs Smartlead and Smartlead vs Instantly. Every comparison in the directory is on the compare hub.
Smartlead vs Apollo API
Dedicated sending infrastructure against sending bundled with the data.
Compare them →Smartlead vs Instantly
The two senders that both give you unlimited mailboxes, gating the API in opposite ways.
Compare them →Instantly vs QuickMail
REST against GraphQL, and the only sender here that holds webhooks back for a $299 plan.
Compare them →Comparison pages end at the rate card. Your list does not.
We run the bake-off on your actual data, pick the provider order, and build the pipeline behind it: waterfall routing, credit ceilings and the write-back that puts a verified contact in front of a rep the same day.
Worked with 300+ companies. A senior operator runs your account.
Smartlead and QuickMail, answered
Read from the same records that drive the table above.
Is Smartlead or QuickMail cheaper?
On the entry plan it is Smartlead, $39/mo against QuickMail at $49/mo. The entry price is the comparable figure, because they do not meter the same thing.
Can I try Smartlead and QuickMail for free?
Smartlead: No free tier. Free trial, no card. API access starts at the Pro plan. QuickMail: No free tier. 14-day trial and no automatic charge when it ends.
What are the rate limits on Smartlead and QuickMail?
Smartlead: 60 req/min and 1,000/hour per key, 120 and 3,000 on Pro. Three endpoints capped at 10 a minute on top. QuickMail: Not published. The public API reference is no longer reachable.
Do Smartlead and QuickMail both have MCP servers?
One of them. Smartlead ships one (https://mcp.smartlead.ai/sse); QuickMail documents none.
Which is better, Smartlead or QuickMail?
Smartlead vs QuickMail make the same mistake from the buyer's point of view and charge almost the same for it. Neither puts the API on the entry plan: Smartlead starts it at Pro, $94 a month, and QuickMail at Growth, $99.
What are the downsides of Smartlead and QuickMail?
Measured against each other rather than in general. Smartlead: there is no free tier, only a trial, so test your own list inside its limits before paying. QuickMail: there is no free tier, only a trial, so test your own list inside its limits before paying; there is no documented MCP server, so an agent has to go through your own code.
Can you use Smartlead and QuickMail together?
Both gate the API behind the second tier and land within $5 of each other doing it, so the price comparison is a wash and the decision is about shape.
Can I migrate from Smartlead to QuickMail without losing data?
Not without losing a field. QuickMail does not return CRM records, which Smartlead does, so anything downstream that reads it has to change. Either way, measure your match rate on 500 rows before you switch, because that number is the one you cannot recover afterwards.