Pipedrive vs Salesforce
Pipedrive
Best CRM API for small sales teams US$14/Salesforce
Best CRM API for enterprise integration US$125/Pipedrive vs Salesforce is a nine times price difference for API access, and both of them meter by the day rather than by the second, which makes the comparison unusually concrete. Pipedrive punishes a badly shaped integration and Salesforce punishes a small one. Unless you need the metadata and deployment APIs, or the org is already on Salesforce, the arithmetic here is not subtle.
Where they actually differ
Every value comes from the same record that drives the CRM and sync APIs listing, so this table cannot disagree with the cards. Accented tags are data one provider returns and the other does not.
| Compare | Pipedrive | Salesforce |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | A daily token budget, not a request limit | The only CRM here that sells API access separately |
| Entry price | US$14/seat/mo | US$125/seat/mo |
| Unit cost | Not sold by the unit | Not sold by the unit |
| Billing model | Per seat Subscription | Per seat Subscription |
| Free tier | No free tier. 14-day trial, no card. | No free tier with API access. Developer Edition is free and gets 15,000 calls a day. |
| GTM motion covered | Sync Engage | Sync Engage |
| Data returned | CRM recordsWork emailFirmographics | CRM recordsWork emailFirmographics |
| MCP server | Yes https://mcp.pipedrive.ai/mcp | Yes Hosted MCP servers, plus a DX server in beta |
| Interfaces | REST API MCP server Webhooks n8n node | REST API MCP server Webhooks Bulk or async n8n node |
| Auth | API token from the app, or OAuth 2.0 for distributed apps | OAuth 2.0. SOAP login() with a username and password retires in Summer 27 |
| Rate limits | Daily token budget: 30,000 x plan multiplier x seats. 429 when spent. | Daily org budget: 100,000 plus 1,000 per Enterprise license. 25 concurrent calls over 20s. |
| Coverage | Global | Global |
| Compliance | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II | SOC 1 ISO 27001 ISO 42001 |
| Best for | Best CRM API for small sales teams | Best CRM API for enterprise integration |
Pick each one when
Pipedrive
- A small sales team wants a CRM they can run without an administrator.
- The integration reads and writes records directly rather than searching.
- US$14 a seat against US$125 decides it.
Salesforce
- You need more than records: metadata, deployment, streaming or bulk.
- Volume is high and a daily pool that grows with licenses suits you.
- The company is already standardized on Salesforce.
There is no match rate to test here, so the bake-off is about shape and headroom. Build the object you actually sell on in each of them, using a trial or entry plan from each side, write a thousand records through the API, and watch which one needs a custom object and which one needs a plan upgrade to take the write rate. An afternoon, and it surfaces the data-modeling work before it is in production rather than after.
What each one costs, tier by tier
Both publish a full rate card, so this comparison runs on numbers rather than on adjectives. Pipedrive lists 4 tiers and Salesforce lists 5. Every figure is read off the vendor's own pricing page, and the pages they came from are listed at the foot of this one.
| The short version | Pipedrive | Salesforce |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | Lite, US$14 | Starter Suite, US$25 |
| Tiers published | 4 | 5 |
| Free tier | No free tier. 14-day trial, no card. | No free tier with API access. Developer Edition is free and gets 15,000 calls a day. |
| Unit cost at entry | Not sold by the unit | Not sold by the unit |
The cheapest paid plan is rarely the plan you end up on, because what moves you up a tier is usually volume rather than a feature. The two rate cards below are what you are choosing between.
Pipedrive
Pipedrive publishes 4 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from US$14 to US$79.
Lite
- US$168 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 1, so 30,000 a day per seat
- Full API access
Growth
- US$468 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 2, so 60,000 a day per seat
- Email automation and follow-ups
Premium
- US$708 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 5, so 150,000 a day per seat
- Pipedrive marks this the most popular tier
Ultimate
- US$948 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 7, so 210,000 a day per seat
- The complete suite
Salesforce
Salesforce publishes 5 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from US$25 to US$550.
Starter Suite
- Sales, service, marketing and commerce in one
- Slack included at no extra cost
- Not listed on the API rate-limit table
Pro Suite
- Web Services API available for an extra $25/user/mo
- So US$125/user/mo all in, the cheapest API access here
- 5 flows per org
Core
- APIs included, no add-on
- Forecasting, opportunity scoring, conversation intelligence
- Agentforce with the free Salesforce Foundations add-on
Advanced
- APIs included
- 1 Full Sandbox included per org
- Everything in Core plus advanced automation
Max
- APIs included
- Slack Enterprise+ included
- The complete suite
What Pipedrive and Salesforce cost at your volume
Put your own volume in. The model picks the cheapest published plan that covers it on each side, which is the question a rate card cannot answer and the one that decides the bill.
Pipedrive
Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.
Salesforce
Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.
Plans are read from each vendor's own pricing page and the model picks the cheapest one that covers you, so these are list prices before any discount you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount.
What a year costs at three volumes
The same plan-fit arithmetic as the model above, run out to a year, because an annual number is what a budget actually asks for. Pipedrive and Salesforce are priced per seat, so those columns do not move with volume. The figure shown is 3 seats for a year.
| A year at | Pipedrive | Salesforce |
|---|---|---|
| 1,000 a month | $504 Lite | $4,500 Pro Suite |
| 10,000 a month | $504 Lite | $4,500 Pro Suite |
| 50,000 a month | $504 Lite | $4,500 Pro Suite |
2 of the 2 providers here publish enough to be put in this table. These are list prices on the published plan that covers each volume, so they are the number before you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount by between a fifth and a half.
How this plays out once it is running
Pipedrive gives every paid seat API access at $14 and then limits you on complexity: 30,000 tokens a day times a plan multiplier times seats, where a search costs 40 tokens and a read costs 2. Salesforce wants $100 for Pro Suite plus a $25 Web Services API add-on, and then limits you on volume: 100,000 calls a day plus 1,000 per license.
Put ten seats through each and the gap is plain. A ten seat Pipedrive Growth account gets 600,000 tokens a day for $390 a month. Ten Salesforce seats at Core cost $1,950 and get 110,000 calls.
What each one is genuinely good at
Not a feature list. These are the things that make somebody keep paying after the novelty has worn off, which is a different question from what the marketing page leads with.
Pipedrive
US$14 a seat against US$125
Pipedrive includes full API access in its entry seat. Salesforce sells it as a US$25 per user add-on on top of US$100 Pro Suite, or bundles it from Core at US$195. Three seats that can actually call the API cost US$42 a month here and US$375 there, which is a factor of nine on the same question.
Every endpoint's cost is published
A search is 40 tokens, a single read is 2, and the daily budget is 30,000 times a plan multiplier times your seats. You can compute your exact capacity before writing code. Salesforce publishes its daily allowance too, but not a per-operation cost, so the same forecast there is an estimate.
One API, learnable in an afternoon
REST, webhooks and an MCP server. That is the whole surface. For a team that needs records in and out of a CRM rather than a platform to build on, there is nothing to choose between and nothing to get wrong.
Salesforce
More than a dozen APIs, each for a different job
REST, SOAP, Bulk 2.0, GraphQL, Metadata, Tooling and Pub/Sub. A nightly million-row load goes through Bulk 2.0, an event stream through Pub/Sub, a deployment through Metadata. Pipedrive has one REST API and it is the right call for most teams and the wrong one for this one.
The ceiling is an org budget, not a per-seat one
100,000 calls a day plus 1,000 per Enterprise license, pooled across every integration. A large org has hundreds of thousands of calls before it asks for anything, and an unattended pipeline draws on the same pool as everything else rather than being capped by the seats it does not have.
A free Developer Edition against the real API
15,000 calls a day on a free org, against the same endpoints. Pipedrive gives you fourteen days. If the build is going to take longer than a fortnight, only one of these lets you finish it before the invoice starts.
Where each one falls down
Every provider on this site has a case it handles badly, and the people who find out are the ones who bought it for that case. These are the ones worth knowing before you sign rather than after.
Pipedrive
The budget is tied to headcount
30,000 tokens times the multiplier times seats means a two-person team on Lite has 60,000 tokens a day, or 1,500 searches. An automated pipeline on a small account runs out long before the people do, and the only published fix is seats or a higher plan.
No free tier
Fourteen days with no card, then a paid seat. There is no way to leave a prototype running while somebody decides.
A search costs twenty reads
40 tokens against 2. Code that searches where it could have fetched by id burns the day's budget twenty times faster, and the symptom is a 429 in the afternoon rather than a slow morning.
Salesforce
You buy the API on purpose, and it is the only CRM here you do
US$25 per user per month on Pro Suite, included only from Core at US$195. The rate-limit table confirms it independently by naming its row Professional Edition with API access enabled. US$125 a seat is the real floor for anything programmatic.
Raising the ceiling means buying licenses
The daily budget grows by 1,000 per Enterprise license and by nothing else that is published. An integration that needs throughput rather than people has no lever it can pull on its own.
An authentication deadline you did not set
SOAP login() with a username and password retires in Summer 27. Inherited integrations that use it have to move to OAuth 2.0 before then, and that work competes with whatever you were planning to do instead.
Using Pipedrive and Salesforce together
A two-way comparison assumes the answer is one of them. On this pairing it often is not, and the arrangement below is what teams actually end up running.
These are both the system of record, so the two-CRM state is a transition rather than a stack. It usually arrives through an acquisition or through a sales team that outgrew the tool the founders picked, and it is expensive in a way that neither rate card shows.
The API cost of running both is the sync, and the sync is where the budgets meet. Each loop iteration spends Pipedrive tokens and Salesforce daily calls, so a two-way sync on a field both systems think they own is a bill on both sides at once. Decide the owner per field, make the other side read-only, and log the write volume before you turn it on.
If the destination is Salesforce, do the Pipedrive export while you still have the seats. Cancelling first means paying again for access to your own records, which is a mistake that is cheap to avoid and awkward to explain.
Pipedrive or Salesforce, for you
Two questions, answered from the same records as the rest of this page. Nothing is sent anywhere and there is no result to email yourself.
Each answer leans one way. The recommendation appears here once you have picked at least two.
A tool like this can only weigh what is on the page. It does not know your segment, and the one test that does is the bake-off further down: real rows, cheapest entry on each side, spend divided by survivors.
Where an answer leans on a certification or an integration, it means that vendor publishes it on the pages this directory read, which is not the same as the other one lacking it. The sources are listed at the foot of the page.
Where the data comes from, and what you may do with it
The question that arrives late and expensively is not how good the data is, it is who is allowed to hold it. These are the fields each one returns, the coverage it claims and the compliance it publishes.
| Provider | Fields returned | Coverage | Compliance | Redistribution |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pipedrive | CRM records, Work email, Firmographics | Global | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II | Not stated |
| Salesforce | CRM records, Work email, Firmographics | Global | SOC 1 ISO 27001 ISO 42001 | Not stated |
None of these states a redistribution position on its pricing or docs pages. Internally that never matters. Put the rows in something your customers can see and it becomes the question your legal team asks first.
Two practical notes that apply to every provider on this page. A compliance badge describes the vendor, not your use of it, so a GDPR DPA does not give you a lawful basis for the outreach you send. And every one of these vendors runs its own opt-out, which means a person who asks you to delete their record has to be removed from your copy as well as from theirs.
Moving between Pipedrive and Salesforce
Most readers of this page are already on one of these two. A swap is four hours of code and a month of watching, and the order below is the one that catches the expensive mistakes while they are still free.
Measure the thing you are about to lose
Run 500 rows you already have through Pipedrive and record the match rate, the fields that came back populated and the cost. Without that number a migration cannot be judged, because every provider looks cheaper per unit than the one you are paying for today.
Check the fields, not the field count
Salesforce returns every field Pipedrive does, so nothing downstream has to change shape. Confirm the values rather than the keys: two providers can both return a mobile number and disagree about which one it is.
Rewrite the auth and the limits, in that order
Pipedrive authenticates with API token from the app, or OAuth 2.0 for distributed apps. Salesforce uses OAuth 2.0. SOAP login() with a username and password retires in Summer 27.
The limits are the part that bites later. Pipedrive rate: Daily token budget: 30,000 x plan multiplier x seats. 429 when spent.
Salesforce rate: Daily org budget: 100,000 plus 1,000 per Enterprise license. 25 concurrent calls over 20s. A loop tuned to the first will either crawl or get throttled on the second.
Run both for one billing cycle
Keep the old key live and route a slice of real traffic to the new one. A month is the shortest honest test, because credit expiry, rollover and the overage rate only show up at renewal and those are where the surprises live.
Cancel on the renewal date, not before
Credits on most of these plans do not survive a downgrade. Check what happens to the balance you have already paid for, and time the switch so you are not buying the same records twice.
The step people skip is the first one, and it is the only one that cannot be done after the fact. Once the old key is off you have nothing to compare the new match rate against, so a provider that is quietly worse on your segment looks like a provider that is fine.
What practitioners say about Pipedrive
The one part of this page that is not a vendor claim. Quotes are transcribed as written, linked to the thread, and nothing here is the only source for a figure in the tables above.
A third-party integration spends your token budget, and you find out late
[...] co-founder of Outfunnel. You're right that our Pipedrive API usage wasn't well optimized initially. At the time, we had no advance notice that API usage would become metered, and we were caught off guard by the change. Sorry if we burned through your limits during those first weeks! That said, we responded quickly once the issue became apparent, and since those initial hiccups, we've had no recurring problems with excessive or unnecessary API consumption.
r/pipedrive · June 2026 · 2 points
A vendor on the record about spending somebody else's allowance, which is the clearest illustration of what a shared daily budget means. Pipedrive's budget is 30,000 tokens times a plan multiplier times your seats, pooled across every integration on the account, so an app you installed from the marketplace draws on the same pool as the pipeline you wrote.
The practical note is the one the thread starts from: you will notice through a 429 on your own code rather than through a bill. Audit what is connected before you size a backfill, and check the marketplace apps first.
Ask for fewer fields before you buy more tokens
You can actually bypass this efficiency issue without buying their ridiculous $100 top-up package by switching your AI or integration to use Pipedrive's modern API v2 infrastructure. [...] v2 endpoints now support sparse filtering via a query parameter that lets you request only the exact keys you care about, shrinking a massive 2,000-character response down to a tiny snippet and drastically cutting down data over-fetching.
r/pipedrive · July 2026 · 5 points
The same lesson as the token costs in the table above, applied one level down. Pipedrive meters complexity rather than calls, so the lever is how much you ask for rather than how often. Requesting only the fields you use is the cheapest optimization available and it needs no plan change.
Treat the specifics as a pointer rather than as a published figure. Pipedrive's own API reference is the authority on which v2 endpoints accept a field selector and what each one costs in tokens, and that is the page to read before rewriting a client.
14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.
What practitioners say about Salesforce
The one part of this page that is not a vendor claim. Quotes are transcribed as written, linked to the thread, and nothing here is the only source for a figure in the tables above.
Paying per seat for integrations is what pushed teams into sharing credentials
[...] I've seen SO much horrible security practise and API user sharing at small/mid size companies who just can't afford a proper full user license for each dedicated integration. Can't wait to share this news tomorrow to my boss.
r/salesforce · March 2023 · 11 points
Written when API-only licenses arrived, and it is the clearest practitioner account of what this page's pricing section describes. When a license costs US$125 a seat with the API add-on, a company with six integrations is being asked for six seats for software rather than people, and the thing that gives way is the credential.
The security consequence is the part a rate card does not show. One shared integration user across six systems means no way to tell which of them made a call, revoked access for one revokes it for all, and the daily org budget drains with no attribution. Price the integration users before you commit, not after.
The list price is a starting position, and practitioners treat it that way
They will fight you tooth and nail to maintain ACV. The trick is to figure out how to get leverage on them. [...] My standard approach: 1.Start renewals 6+ months out 2.Assess SF's current capability and how it aligns to your business goals (is it enabling you or holding you back) 3.Evaluate alternative vendors and position them to salesforce 4+ months out from renewal This playbook regularly knocks 15-30% out of a contract in a flat renewal.
r/salesforce · December 2025 · 9 points
Every figure in the cost model above is a list price, and this is the practitioner version of that caveat. A discount in this range would move three Core seats from US$585 a month to somewhere between US$410 and US$497, which changes the answer against a cheaper CRM at the margin and does not change it at the floor.
Treat the percentages as a signal rather than a number you can plan on: they are one person's experience of their own renewals, not a published rate. What is worth copying is the timing, because leverage is a function of how long you left yourself and that part costs nothing.
14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.
The wider field for both
A two-way comparison assumes the answer is one of these two. Often it is not, and the reason you are comparing them at all points somewhere else entirely: Pipedrive alternatives and Salesforce alternatives both start from the reason people leave.
Pipedrive alternatives
4A $14 seat with the API included. The daily token budget is what people hit before they start looking.
See the alternatives →Salesforce alternatives
4Almost nobody leaves Salesforce because the API is bad. They leave because reaching it costs $125 a seat.
See the alternatives →Everything in Sync
6The full category these two sit in, filtered by data returned, billing model and entry price.
Browse the category →Related comparisons
The 26 providers behind every pairing here are in the main listing.
Pairings that share a side with this one: Pipedrive vs Zoho CRM, Salesforce vs Zoho CRM and Attio vs Pipedrive.
And: Attio vs Salesforce and HubSpot vs Pipedrive. Every comparison in the directory is on the compare hub.
HubSpot API vs Salesforce
A CRM that gives the API away against one that sells it by the seat.
Compare them →Attio API vs Salesforce
Define the schema in code for free, or buy the deepest API in the category by the seat.
Compare them →HubSpot API vs Pipedrive
A free tier with a per-second rate limit against a $14 seat with a daily token budget.
Compare them →Comparison pages end at the rate card. Your list does not.
We run the bake-off on your actual data, pick the provider order, and build the pipeline behind it: waterfall routing, credit ceilings and the write-back that puts a verified contact in front of a rep the same day.
Worked with 300+ companies. A senior operator runs your account.
Pipedrive and Salesforce, answered
Read from the same records that drive the table above.
Is Pipedrive or Salesforce cheaper?
On the entry plan it is Pipedrive, US$14/seat/mo against Salesforce at US$125/seat/mo. The entry price is the comparable figure, because they do not meter the same thing.
Can I try Pipedrive and Salesforce for free?
Pipedrive: No free tier. 14-day trial, no card. Salesforce: No free tier with API access. Developer Edition is free and gets 15,000 calls a day.
What are the rate limits on Pipedrive and Salesforce?
Pipedrive: Daily token budget: 30,000 x plan multiplier x seats. 429 when spent. Salesforce: Daily org budget: 100,000 plus 1,000 per Enterprise license. 25 concurrent calls over 20s.
Do Pipedrive and Salesforce both have MCP servers?
Both do. Pipedrive: https://mcp.pipedrive.ai/mcp. Salesforce: Hosted MCP servers, plus a DX server in beta.
Which is better, Pipedrive or Salesforce?
Pipedrive vs Salesforce is a nine times price difference for API access, and both of them meter by the day rather than by the second, which makes the comparison unusually concrete. Pipedrive punishes a badly shaped integration and Salesforce punishes a small one.
What are the downsides of Pipedrive and Salesforce?
Measured against each other rather than in general. Pipedrive: there is no free tier, only a trial, so test your own list inside its limits before paying. Salesforce: there is no free tier, so you cannot measure your own match rate before paying.
Can you use Pipedrive and Salesforce together?
These are both the system of record, so the two-CRM state is a transition rather than a stack. It usually arrives through an acquisition or through a sales team that outgrew the tool the founders picked, and it is expensive in a way that neither rate card shows.
Can I migrate from Pipedrive to Salesforce without losing data?
The fields survive: Salesforce returns everything Pipedrive does. What changes is the auth and the limits. Either way, measure your match rate on 500 rows before you switch, because that number is the one you cannot recover afterwards.