Salesforce competitors, sorted by why you are leaving
Almost nobody leaves Salesforce because the API is bad. They leave because reaching it costs $125 a seat. 4 replacements below, each one matched to a specific reason rather than ranked on a score nobody can audit.
Prices and limits for every option below are read off the vendor's own page. These are the Salesforce alternatives that answer a named problem, not a field of logos.
The 4 reasons people actually leave
If none of these is your situation, the honest answer is that you should probably stay, and the Salesforce API review covers what you already have. The 26 providers these replacements are drawn from are in the CRM and sync APIs listing.
1 · API access is a line item you can forget to buy
On Pro Suite the Web Services API is an add-on at $25 per user per month on top of a $100 seat, and it is bundled from Core at $195. That makes $125 a seat the cheapest honest route to a Salesforce API call, charged per user rather than per integration. Every other CRM reviewed here includes the API in the seat, and two of them include it in a free tier.
2 · The limit scales with licenses, not with need
The daily allocation is 100,000 calls plus 1,000 per Enterprise license, shared across every integration in the org. That is generous for a normal sync and awkward in the one case that matters: when throughput is the problem, the fix is buying seats you do not need people for, or an API Call Add-On.
3 · It takes an administrator
The surface that makes Salesforce powerful, more than a dozen APIs with their own references, versions and retirement dates, is the same surface that means somebody has to own it. Teams under about thirty people usually find that person is a founder.
4 · Retirements land on inherited integrations
SOAP login() with a username and password retires in Summer 27, and API versions 31.0 through 40.0 retire in Summer 28. Salesforce publishes these years ahead, which is more than most vendors do, but the integrations most likely to be affected are the ones nobody has opened in five years.
4 replacements, and what each one fixes
Ordered by how often they turn out to be the right answer, not by price.
| Provider | Entry price | Unit cost | Free tier | Fixes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salesforce | US$125/seat/mo | Not by the unit | No free tier with API access. Developer Edition is free and gets 15,000 calls a day. | Baseline |
| HubSpot API | Free tier | $0 free tier | Free CRM including API access | Best free CRM endpoint |
| Attio API | $44/user/mo | Not by the unit | Free plan with full API access, 100 seat credits a month | Best API-first CRM |
| Pipedrive | US$14/seat/mo | Not by the unit | No free tier. 14-day trial, no card. | Best CRM API for small sales teams |
| Clay | $167/mo | $0.0452 per data credit | Free plan, 500 actions and 100 data credits per month | Best orchestration layer |
Read from each vendor's own pricing page between 8 and 19 October 2026.
The case for each one
Each one below is matched to a reason rather than scored, and each one names what you give up by taking it. A replacement with no downside is a replacement nobody has actually run.
HubSpot API
Full CRM object access on a genuinely free tier, so you can build the integration before anyone signs anything. The direct answer when the $125 seat was the problem.
The headline is the one that matters on this page: HubSpot's free CRM includes full object access over REST, not a trial of it. Against Salesforce, where the Web Services API is a US$25 per user add-on on Pro Suite and bundled only from Core at US$195, that is the difference between proving an integration for nothing and proving it for US$375 a month across three seats.
The limits are a rate rather than a budget: 100 requests per 10 seconds on Free and Starter, rising to 190 on Professional. A rate is something you can hold a queue under. Salesforce's daily org allocation is something you have to forecast, and it only grows when you buy more licenses.
There are two official MCP servers, a remote one for the CRM and a local one for builds, so an agent reading or writing your records is a configuration line. Paid starts at $20 a seat, which is a sixth of what the same capability costs on Salesforce.
What you give up
The API surface and the headroom. HubSpot has one REST API; Salesforce has more than a dozen, and Bulk 2.0, Metadata and Pub/Sub have no equivalent here. You also give up the per-license ceiling: HubSpot's daily cap is shared across every connected app, so a marketplace integration somebody else installed spends the same budget your pipeline does.
When it is the wrong answer
Large orgs with a metadata-driven deployment process or a nightly million-row load. If your Salesforce usage is the part of Salesforce that is genuinely good, this is a downgrade with a lower invoice attached.
Entry Free tier. Free CRM including API access. Every enrichment pipeline eventually has to land somewhere a rep will look. Read the review · Salesforce vs HubSpot
Attio API
A schema you define through the API itself, with the SDK and an MCP server as one platform, free to start and $44 a user after that.
Attio answers the Salesforce complaint that is about shape rather than price. Objects and attributes are created through the API, so the model is yours in a way that does not require an administrator, a sandbox and a deployment. For a team that liked Salesforce's flexibility and not the overhead of exercising it, that is the trade.
The limits are a plain rate, 100 requests a second for reads and 25 a second for writes, across the whole API. No daily org budget, no per-license arithmetic, nothing to forecast. After Salesforce's 100,000 plus 1,000 per Enterprise license, that is a noticeable simplification.
The free plan carries full REST access, 100 seat credits and 250 workspace credits a month, so the migration is testable before it is bought. Paid is $44 a user a month, or $35 annually, against Salesforce's effective US$125.
What you give up
Depth and the ecosystem. There is no Metadata API, no Tooling API, no Bulk 2.0 and no Pub/Sub, and the integration marketplace is a fraction of the size. Attio is a newer product and the surrounding supply of consultants, contractors and prebuilt connectors reflects that.
When it is the wrong answer
Any org where twenty reports and six integrations already point at Salesforce. The cost of leaving is not the seat price, it is rebuilding everything downstream, and a schema you can define yourself does not help with that.
Entry $44/user/mo. Free plan with full API access, 100 seat credits a month. Attio treats the schema as yours rather than theirs, so the objects your GTM motion actually runs on do not have to be bent into somebody else's idea of a deal. Read the review · Salesforce vs Attio
Pipedrive
US$14 a seat with API access on every plan, nine times cheaper than Salesforce API access. Right when a small team inherited an enterprise CRM.
This is the cheapest way out of the US$125 seat. Pipedrive includes full API access in a US$14 seat on annual billing, with no add-on and no gated tier, which is a factor of nine on the same question. For a sales team of eight that inherited Salesforce from a founder or an acquisition, that is usually the whole argument.
The metering is different in a way that suits small teams and punishes careless code. The daily budget is 30,000 tokens times a plan multiplier times your seats, and each endpoint has a published cost: a search is 40 tokens and a read is 2. You can compute the ceiling exactly, which Salesforce's allocation does not let you do.
What it does not have is an administrator-shaped surface. There is one REST API, webhooks and an MCP server, and that is the whole thing. For most teams leaving Salesforce because it was too much product, that is the point rather than a shortcoming.
What you give up
Everything that made Salesforce expensive, which is the trade you are making on purpose, plus the free tier. Pipedrive offers 14 days and no card, so there is nowhere to park a half-finished migration. The daily budget is also tied to seats, so a two-person team on Lite has 60,000 tokens a day, which is 1,500 searches.
When it is the wrong answer
Anyone who needs more than a simple pipeline. If your Salesforce org has custom objects, a managed package or a deployment pipeline, this will not hold it and the migration will fail halfway.
Entry US$14/seat/mo. No free tier. 14-day trial, no card.. Pipedrive is the CRM most small sales teams already run, and its API is priced into the seat rather than metered. Read the review · Salesforce vs Pipedrive
Clay
Not a CRM, and worth naming because many Salesforce migrations are really about enrichment. If the rows were the complaint, changing CRM does not fix them.
Before pricing a migration, separate the two complaints that feel the same from inside: Salesforce is the wrong system, or the records in Salesforce are thin and stale. The second one is an enrichment problem, and the cheapest version of it keeps the CRM and fixes the data.
Clay routes a lookup across more than 150 providers on one contract and writes back into whatever you already run. The coverage is genuinely not purchasable another way without signing a dozen vendors, and the waterfall logic that would take a week to build is a column setting.
The cost model is the part to understand before committing. A found contact costs an action for Clay's work plus the data credits of whichever provider answered, $0.0452 a credit on annual Launch, and nothing is charged for a lookup that finds nothing. Cap the rows a table runs on before pointing it at a large list.
What you give up
Nothing, because it replaces nothing. It is here to stop a data problem being misdiagnosed as a platform problem, and taking it means keeping Salesforce and adding a second invoice.
When it is the wrong answer
Teams whose Salesforce complaint is genuinely the US$125 seat. Clay does not reduce that bill by a cent, and one of the three CRMs above is the answer instead.
Entry $167/mo. Free plan, 500 actions and 100 data credits per month. Clay is not really an enrichment API, it is the router in front of everybody else's. Read the review
What you would actually pay, on each one
Every provider on this page publishes a rate card, so the real numbers can sit next to each other rather than behind a summary. The plan you want is the one whose included volume covers a normal month for you, not the cheapest one on the page.
Salesforce
Salesforce publishes 5 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from US$25 to US$550.
Starter Suite
- Sales, service, marketing and commerce in one
- Slack included at no extra cost
- Not listed on the API rate-limit table
Pro Suite
- Web Services API available for an extra $25/user/mo
- So US$125/user/mo all in, the cheapest API access here
- 5 flows per org
Core
- APIs included, no add-on
- Forecasting, opportunity scoring, conversation intelligence
- Agentforce with the free Salesforce Foundations add-on
Advanced
- APIs included
- 1 Full Sandbox included per org
- Everything in Core plus advanced automation
Max
- APIs included
- Slack Enterprise+ included
- The complete suite
HubSpot API
HubSpot API publishes 4 tiers, one of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $20 to Quote.
Free
- Full CRM object access over the API
- Free Marketing, Sales, Service, Content, Data and Revenue tools
- 100 calls per 10s, 250,000 a day
- No credit card required
Starter
- Same API, same limits as Free
- 500 HubSpot Credits included
- 1,000 marketing contacts
- From $7/seat/mo on the current new-customer offer
Professional
- 190 calls per 10s per app
- 625,000 calls a day per account
- Where the limit increase starts to matter
Enterprise
- 190 calls per 10s per app
- 1,000,000 calls a day per account
- Highest published daily ceiling
Attio API
Attio API publishes 4 tiers, one of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $44 to Custom.
Free
- Full REST API access
- 100 seat credits a month
- 250 workspace credits a month
Plus
- 500 seat credits a month
- 1,500 workspace credits a month
- Billed monthly or annually
Pro
- 1,000 seat credits a month
- 10,000 workspace credits a month
- The tier Attio marks as popular
Enterprise
- 2,500 seat credits a month
- Custom workspace credits
Pipedrive
Pipedrive publishes 4 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from US$14 to US$79.
Lite
- US$168 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 1, so 30,000 a day per seat
- Full API access
Growth
- US$468 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 2, so 60,000 a day per seat
- Email automation and follow-ups
Premium
- US$708 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 5, so 150,000 a day per seat
- Pipedrive marks this the most popular tier
Ultimate
- US$948 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 7, so 210,000 a day per seat
- The complete suite
Clay
Clay publishes 4 tiers, one of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $167 to Custom.
Free
- 100 data credits a month, 1,200 a year
- Unlimited seats and tables, up to 200 rows per table
- Multi-provider waterfalls and Claygent
- Bring your own API key
Launch
- 2,500 data credits a month, 30,000 a year, unused ones roll over up to 2x
- Phone number enrichment
- Job change and other signals, unlimited Audiences search
- Send through the Clay Sequencer or an integration
Growth
- 6,000 data credits a month, 72,000 a year, unused ones roll over up to 2x
- Integrate with any HTTP API. This is the tier that unlocks it
- Auto-sync and enrich CRM, warehouse sync
- Web intent signals, webhook-driven automation
Enterprise
- Custom action and data credit volume, and Clay API access for calling Clay from your own code
- Auto-delete, so one webhook takes unlimited submissions
Read the included volume before the headline price. A plan that costs twice as much and carries five times the credits is the cheaper plan, and on this page that is the usual case rather than the exception.
What each one costs at your volume
Salesforce first, then every replacement. The model picks the cheapest published plan that covers your volume on each one, which is the comparison a row of entry prices cannot make.
Salesforce
Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.
HubSpot API
Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.
Attio API
Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.
Pipedrive
Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.
Plans are read from each vendor's own pricing page and the model picks the cheapest one that covers you, so these are list prices before any discount you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount.
What a year costs at three volumes
The same plan-fit arithmetic as the model above, run out to a year, because an annual number is what a budget actually asks for. Salesforce, HubSpot API, Attio API and Pipedrive are priced per seat, so those columns do not move with volume. The figure shown is 3 seats for a year.
| A year at | Salesforce | HubSpot API | Attio API | Pipedrive | Clay |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1,000 a month | $4,500 Pro Suite | $720 Starter | $1,584 Plus | $504 Lite | $5,352 Growth |
| 10,000 a month | $4,500 Pro Suite | $720 Starter | $1,584 Plus | $504 Lite | $5,352 Growth |
| 50,000 a month | $4,500 Pro Suite | $720 Starter | $1,584 Plus | $504 Lite | Quoted |
5 of the 5 providers here publish enough to be put in this table. These are list prices on the published plan that covers each volume, so they are the number before you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount by between a fifth and a half.
Which replacement is yours
Answer what matters most and the lean appears below. Every option is read from the records on this page, and staying on Salesforce is one of the possible answers.
Each answer leans one way. The recommendation appears here once you have picked at least two.
A tool like this can only weigh what is on the page. It does not know your segment, and the one test that does is the bake-off further down: real rows, cheapest entry on each side, spend divided by survivors.
Where an answer leans on a certification or an integration, it means that vendor publishes it on the pages this directory read, which is not the same as the other one lacking it. The sources are listed at the foot of the page.
Where the data comes from, and what you may do with it
The question that arrives late and expensively is not how good the data is, it is who is allowed to hold it. A migration is the moment to check it, because you are signing a new contract anyway.
| Provider | Fields returned | Coverage | Compliance | Redistribution |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salesforce | CRM records, Work email, Firmographics | Global | SOC 1 ISO 27001 ISO 42001 | Not stated |
| HubSpot API | CRM records, Work email, Firmographics | Global | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II CCPA | Not stated |
| Attio API | CRM records, Work email, Firmographics | Global | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II | Not stated |
| Pipedrive | CRM records, Work email, Firmographics | Global | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II | Not stated |
| Clay | Work email, Personal email, Mobile phone, Firmographics, Technographics, Job postings, Job changes, Intent and news, LinkedIn profile | Global | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II | Not stated |
None of these states a redistribution position on its pricing or docs pages. Internally that never matters. Put the rows in something your customers can see and it becomes the question your legal team asks first.
Two practical notes that apply to every provider on this page. A compliance badge describes the vendor, not your use of it, so a GDPR DPA does not give you a lawful basis for the outreach you send. And every one of these vendors runs its own opt-out, which means a person who asks you to delete their record has to be removed from your copy as well as from theirs.
Moving off Salesforce
Written against HubSpot API, the first pick above, because the steps are the same whichever one you take and the specifics are what make them useful. Swap the name and the order still holds.
Measure the thing you are about to lose
Run 500 rows you already have through Salesforce and record the match rate, the fields that came back populated and the cost. Without that number a migration cannot be judged, because every provider looks cheaper per unit than the one you are paying for today.
Check the fields, not the field count
HubSpot API returns every field Salesforce does, so nothing downstream has to change shape. Confirm the values rather than the keys: two providers can both return a mobile number and disagree about which one it is.
Rewrite the auth and the limits, in that order
Salesforce authenticates with OAuth 2.0. SOAP login() with a username and password retires in Summer 27. HubSpot API uses private app token or OAuth 2.0.
The limits are the part that bites later. Salesforce rate: Daily org budget: 100,000 plus 1,000 per Enterprise license. 25 concurrent calls over 20s.
HubSpot API rate: 100 req/10s on Free and Starter, 190 on Professional. Daily cap shared across apps. A loop tuned to the first will either crawl or get throttled on the second.
Run both for one billing cycle
Keep the old key live and route a slice of real traffic to the new one. A month is the shortest honest test, because credit expiry, rollover and the overage rate only show up at renewal and those are where the surprises live.
Cancel on the renewal date, not before
Credits on most of these plans do not survive a downgrade. Check what happens to the balance you have already paid for, and time the switch so you are not buying the same records twice.
The step people skip is the first one, and it is the only one that cannot be done after the fact. Once the old key is off you have nothing to compare the new match rate against, so a provider that is quietly worse on your segment looks like a provider that is fine.
What practitioners say about Salesforce
The one part of this page that is not a vendor claim. These are people describing Salesforce in their own words, transcribed as written and linked to the thread, and nothing here is the only source for a figure in the tables above.
Paying per seat for integrations is what pushed teams into sharing credentials
[...] I've seen SO much horrible security practise and API user sharing at small/mid size companies who just can't afford a proper full user license for each dedicated integration. Can't wait to share this news tomorrow to my boss.
r/salesforce · March 2023 · 11 points
Written when API-only licenses arrived, and it is the clearest practitioner account of what this page's pricing section describes. When a license costs US$125 a seat with the API add-on, a company with six integrations is being asked for six seats for software rather than people, and the thing that gives way is the credential.
The security consequence is the part a rate card does not show. One shared integration user across six systems means no way to tell which of them made a call, revoked access for one revokes it for all, and the daily org budget drains with no attribution. Price the integration users before you commit, not after.
The list price is a starting position, and practitioners treat it that way
They will fight you tooth and nail to maintain ACV. The trick is to figure out how to get leverage on them. [...] My standard approach: 1.Start renewals 6+ months out 2.Assess SF's current capability and how it aligns to your business goals (is it enabling you or holding you back) 3.Evaluate alternative vendors and position them to salesforce 4+ months out from renewal This playbook regularly knocks 15-30% out of a contract in a flat renewal.
r/salesforce · December 2025 · 9 points
Every figure in the cost model above is a list price, and this is the practitioner version of that caveat. A discount in this range would move three Core seats from US$585 a month to somewhere between US$410 and US$497, which changes the answer against a cheaper CRM at the margin and does not change it at the floor.
Treat the percentages as a signal rather than a number you can plan on: they are one person's experience of their own renewals, not a published rate. What is worth copying is the timing, because leverage is a function of how long you left yourself and that part costs nothing.
14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.
What practitioners say about HubSpot
Transcribed as written and linked to the thread. A Reddit claim is a signal rather than a fact, so nothing here is the only source for any figure on this page.
The per-app rate limit is why people end up running several private apps
API limits are not being respected or the sync isn't really set up in a way that someone with knowledge of the api. They may not be using a queue system. They haven't optimized and paid attention to api limits. [...] This may need to be done using multiple private app keys because you are hitting specific limits. [...] If these updates are happening all at once, batch and import/export APIs are the way to go
r/hubspot · April 2025 · 2 points
This corroborates the shape of HubSpot's limits rather than the numbers. The rate, 100 requests per 10 seconds on Free and Starter and 190 on Professional, is per app, which is exactly why splitting work across several private apps raises throughput at all.
The part that is easy to miss is that the daily cap is not per app, so the same trick does nothing for it. Splitting a sync across three private apps triples the requests a second you can make and shares one daily budget between them, which is a fix for the wrong half of the problem if the daily cap is what you were hitting.
14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.
What practitioners say about Pipedrive
Transcribed as written and linked to the thread. A Reddit claim is a signal rather than a fact, so nothing here is the only source for any figure on this page.
A third-party integration spends your token budget, and you find out late
[...] co-founder of Outfunnel. You're right that our Pipedrive API usage wasn't well optimized initially. At the time, we had no advance notice that API usage would become metered, and we were caught off guard by the change. Sorry if we burned through your limits during those first weeks! That said, we responded quickly once the issue became apparent, and since those initial hiccups, we've had no recurring problems with excessive or unnecessary API consumption.
r/pipedrive · June 2026 · 2 points
A vendor on the record about spending somebody else's allowance, which is the clearest illustration of what a shared daily budget means. Pipedrive's budget is 30,000 tokens times a plan multiplier times your seats, pooled across every integration on the account, so an app you installed from the marketplace draws on the same pool as the pipeline you wrote.
The practical note is the one the thread starts from: you will notice through a 429 on your own code rather than through a bill. Audit what is connected before you size a backfill, and check the marketplace apps first.
14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.
What practitioners say about Clay
Transcribed as written and linked to the thread. A Reddit claim is a signal rather than a fact, so nothing here is the only source for any figure on this page.
Use it as a filter, not as a bulk provider
One thing I've seen with Clay is that it feels expensive when you use it like a bulk data provider, but much more reasonable when you use it as a filter first. I rarely enrich everything. I narrow the list with cheap signals and firmographics, then only run waterfall email/phone on leads that actually look worth it. That shift alone cut my credit usage a lot, and the outreach quality went up because fewer bad leads made it through. At that point you're paying for decisions, not just data.
r/gtmengineering · January 2026 · 16 points
This is the argument the pricing section makes, arrived at from the other direction. The lever that moves a Clay bill is not the rate, it is how many rows ever reach the expensive step. Narrowing on firmographics first costs almost nothing and keeps the paid enrichments for rows worth contacting.
It also explains why a team that thinks it wants to leave Clay often does not need to. The complaint is usually the spend, and the fix is usually an ordering change rather than a migration.
14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.
Should you actually switch?
Be honest about which half of Salesforce you are leaving. If it is the CRM, HubSpot and Attio are both complete answers and both let you test the API for nothing first. If it is the price of API access, note that you are comparing $125 a seat against free or $14, and that the gap buys you the Metadata and Tooling APIs, which matter enormously to a large org and not at all to a team of eight. The migration nobody regrets is the one where the data model was already simpler than Salesforce made it look. The one people regret is leaving while six integrations and twenty reports still point at it.
A CRM migration is a data-model migration, so test that rather than the API. Build your three most awkward objects in the replacement, using one free tier and one trial, then point one real integration at it and see what it has to invent. Count the reports and automations still pointing at the old system before you commit to a date: that number, not the seat price, is what decides whether this is worth doing.
Head to head, and in a stack
HubSpot API vs Salesforce
CompareA CRM that gives the API away against one that sells it by the seat.
Compare them →Pipedrive vs Salesforce
CompareUS$14 a seat with the API included against US$125 a seat before the first call.
Compare them →Attio API vs Salesforce
CompareDefine the schema in code for free, or buy the deepest API in the category by the seat.
Compare them →All alternatives
29Every provider in the directory that teams regularly try to replace, with the reasons and the replacements for each.
Browse the hub →Switching costs more than the rate card says. Usually.
Three times out of four the fix is a second provider behind the first and a credit ceiling in front of it, not a migration. We will tell you which case you are in before you sign anything.
Worked with 300+ companies. A senior operator runs your account.
Switching from Salesforce, answered
What is the best Salesforce alternative?
It depends on why you are leaving, which is how this page is organized rather than ranked. The replacement most teams land on is HubSpot, which this directory lists as the best free CRM endpoint, and it costs nothing to start. The case for it, and what you give up, is in the section above.
Is there a free alternative to Salesforce?
HubSpot (Free CRM including API access), Attio (Free plan with full API access, 100 seat credits a month) and Clay (Free plan, 500 actions and 100 data credits per month).
What is the cheapest Salesforce competitor?
On the entry plan, HubSpot: free, against Salesforce at US$125/seat/mo. Entry price is not the same as cost per result, so check the unit figure on each review before deciding.
How were these competitors chosen?
By the reason teams leave, not by a score. The page opens with the reasons teams leave and matches a replacement to each one.