Salesforce vs Zoho CRM
Salesforce
Best CRM API for enterprise integration US$125/Zoho CRM
The cheapest CRM here with a published API allowance US$14/Salesforce vs Zoho CRM is the clearest price comparison in this category because the two meter the API almost the same way. Both give the org a daily allowance that grows with licenses: Salesforce is 100,000 calls plus 1,000 per Enterprise license, Zoho is 50,000 credits plus 250 to 2,000 per license by edition. From there they diverge sharply, and the divergence is nine to one on the seat.
Where they actually differ
Every value comes from the same record that drives the CRM and sync APIs listing, so this table cannot disagree with the cards. Accented tags are data one provider returns and the other does not.
| Compare | Salesforce | Zoho CRM |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | The only CRM here that sells API access separately | Concurrency instead of a rate limit, and credits by the day |
| Entry price | US$125/seat/mo | US$14/user/mo |
| Unit cost | Not sold by the unit | Not sold by the unit |
| Billing model | Per seat Subscription | Per seat Subscription Free tier |
| Free tier | No free tier with API access. Developer Edition is free and gets 15,000 calls a day. | Free edition for up to 3 users, with 5,000 API credits a day. |
| GTM motion covered | Sync Engage | Sync Engage |
| Data returned | CRM recordsWork emailFirmographics | CRM recordsWork emailFirmographics |
| MCP server | Yes Hosted MCP servers, plus a DX server in beta | Yes Four Zoho CRM MCP servers, OAuth |
| Interfaces | REST API MCP server Webhooks Bulk or async n8n node | REST API MCP server Webhooks Bulk or async n8n node |
| Auth | OAuth 2.0. SOAP login() with a username and password retires in Summer 27 | OAuth 2.0, with per-scope consent |
| Rate limits | Daily org budget: 100,000 plus 1,000 per Enterprise license. 25 concurrent calls over 20s. | No per-second limit. Daily credit pool plus concurrency of 5 to 25 per org. |
| Coverage | Global | Global |
| Compliance | SOC 1 ISO 27001 ISO 42001 | GDPR DPA HIPAA |
| Best for | Best CRM API for enterprise integration | The cheapest CRM here with a published API allowance |
Pick each one when
Salesforce
- The org is already on Salesforce and the data lives there.
- You need metadata, deployment and streaming APIs, not just records.
- Schema changes must be promoted between environments.
Zoho CRM
- US$14 a seat against US$125 decides it.
- You want API access included rather than bought as a line item.
- A free edition to build against matters.
There is no match rate to test here, so the bake-off is about shape and headroom. Build the object you actually sell on in each of them, using one free tier and one trial, write a thousand records through the API, and watch which one needs a custom object and which one needs a plan upgrade to take the write rate. An afternoon, and it surfaces the data-modeling work before it is in production rather than after.
What each one costs, tier by tier
Both publish a full rate card, so this comparison runs on numbers rather than on adjectives. Salesforce lists 5 tiers and Zoho CRM lists 4. Every figure is read off the vendor's own pricing page, and the pages they came from are listed at the foot of this one.
| The short version | Salesforce | Zoho CRM |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | Starter Suite, US$25 | Free, US$0 |
| Tiers published | 5 | 4 |
| Free tier | No free tier with API access. Developer Edition is free and gets 15,000 calls a day. | Free edition for up to 3 users, with 5,000 API credits a day. |
| Unit cost at entry | Not sold by the unit | Not sold by the unit |
The cheapest paid plan is rarely the plan you end up on, because what moves you up a tier is usually volume rather than a feature. The two rate cards below are what you are choosing between.
Salesforce
Salesforce publishes 5 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from US$25 to US$550.
Starter Suite
- Sales, service, marketing and commerce in one
- Slack included at no extra cost
- Not listed on the API rate-limit table
Pro Suite
- Web Services API available for an extra $25/user/mo
- So US$125/user/mo all in, the cheapest API access here
- 5 flows per org
Core
- APIs included, no add-on
- Forecasting, opportunity scoring, conversation intelligence
- Agentforce with the free Salesforce Foundations add-on
Advanced
- APIs included
- 1 Full Sandbox included per org
- Everything in Core plus advanced automation
Max
- APIs included
- Slack Enterprise+ included
- The complete suite
Zoho CRM
Zoho CRM publishes 4 tiers, one of them free, and the paid ladder runs from US$14 to US$40.
Free
- 5,000 API calls a day
- Contact management and workflow automation
- No credit card required
Standard
- Email integration and mass email
- Multiple sales pipelines
- Built-in calling
Professional
- AI agents and process management
- Inventory management
- Predictive intelligence
Enterprise
- Customer portals and web-to-case
- The edition most API allowances are quoted against
- 100 users gives 150,000 API credits a day
What Salesforce and Zoho CRM cost at your volume
Put your own volume in. The model picks the cheapest published plan that covers it on each side, which is the question a rate card cannot answer and the one that decides the bill.
Salesforce
Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.
Zoho CRM
Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.
Plans are read from each vendor's own pricing page and the model picks the cheapest one that covers you, so these are list prices before any discount you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount.
What a year costs at three volumes
The same plan-fit arithmetic as the model above, run out to a year, because an annual number is what a budget actually asks for. Salesforce and Zoho CRM are priced per seat, so those columns do not move with volume. The figure shown is 3 seats for a year.
| A year at | Salesforce | Zoho CRM |
|---|---|---|
| 1,000 a month | $4,500 Pro Suite | $504 Standard |
| 10,000 a month | $4,500 Pro Suite | $504 Standard |
| 50,000 a month | $4,500 Pro Suite | $504 Standard |
2 of the 2 providers here publish enough to be put in this table. These are list prices on the published plan that covers each volume, so they are the number before you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount by between a fifth and a half.
How this plays out once it is running
Salesforce charges $25 per user per month for the Web Services API on Pro Suite and bundles it from Core at $195, so $125 a seat is the floor before a single call. Zoho includes the API from its free edition upward and costs US$14 a seat. Salesforce also enforces concurrency only on requests running 20 seconds or longer, while Zoho enforces concurrency as the sole throttle and states there is no time-based limit at all.
What the Salesforce premium buys is depth: the Metadata and Tooling APIs, a mature deployment story, and custom objects that behave like standard ones across environments. That matters enormously to a large org and not at all to a team of ten.
What each one is genuinely good at
Not a feature list. These are the things that make somebody keep paying after the novelty has worn off, which is a different question from what the marketing page leads with.
Salesforce
More than a dozen APIs against one
REST, SOAP, Bulk 2.0, GraphQL, Metadata, Tooling and Pub/Sub, each for a different shape of work. Zoho has a REST API and webhooks. For a nightly million-row load or a metadata-driven deployment, that is not a difference of degree.
The allowance is large before you negotiate anything
A hundred thousand calls a day plus 1,000 per Enterprise license, pooled across integrations. Zoho's pool is 50,000 plus 250 to 2,000 per license by edition, so at a hundred Enterprise users Salesforce is 300,000 against Zoho's 150,000.
A free Developer Edition against the real endpoints
Fifteen thousand calls a day on a free org. You can build and test the whole integration before a contract exists, which softens the seat price considerably if the build is the long pole.
Zoho CRM
US$14 a seat with the API included
Against Salesforce's effective US$125, that is nine to one on the same question. There is no add-on and no gated tier: Standard at US$14 includes API access, and the free edition includes it for up to three users.
No time-based rate limit at all
Zoho states outright that there is no per-second or per-minute cap, only a daily credit pool and concurrency of 5 to 25 per org. Salesforce holds you to 25 concurrent calls over 20 seconds on top of the daily budget, so the burst behavior is genuinely different.
HIPAA alongside the GDPR DPA
Zoho publishes both. Salesforce's record here carries SOC 1, ISO 27001 and ISO 42001, which is a different set rather than a smaller one, but for a healthcare-adjacent motion the published HIPAA position is the one procurement asks about first.
Where each one falls down
Every provider on this site has a case it handles badly, and the people who find out are the ones who bought it for that case. These are the ones worth knowing before you sign rather than after.
Salesforce
The API is a line item, and this is the only CRM here sold that way
US$25 per user per month on Pro Suite's US$100, included only from Core at US$195. Three seats that can actually call the API are US$375 a month against Zoho's US$42, and the rate-limit table confirms the gate independently by naming its row Professional Edition with API access enabled.
More throughput means more licenses
The daily budget grows by 1,000 per Enterprise license and by nothing else published. An integration that needs calls rather than people has no lever it can pull on its own.
An authentication retirement already scheduled
SOAP login() with a username and password retires in Summer 27. Inherited integrations using it must move to OAuth 2.0 before then, and that work competes with whatever else was planned.
Zoho CRM
Concurrency of five is the real constraint
Five to 25 concurrent calls per org. The absence of a per-second limit reads as generosity until you try to parallelize: five in flight is a narrow pipe and it will bound a backfill long before the daily credits run out.
A thinner API surface
No Bulk, Metadata, Tooling or Pub/Sub equivalent, although Zoho CRM does now publish four MCP servers. For an org that needs those, the nine-to-one saving is buying a product that does not do the job.
Credits above the edition allowance are metered separately
Extra credits are bought as pay as you go and billed on consumption each month, which reintroduces a variable line into a bill that was chosen for being predictable.
Using Salesforce and Zoho CRM together
A two-way comparison assumes the answer is one of them. On this pairing it often is not, and the arrangement below is what teams actually end up running.
Both are systems of record and the price gap is nine to one, so this is a replacement decision rather than a stack. Running both is usually the result of an acquisition rather than a plan.
Where it does persist deliberately, it is a group with an enterprise division on Salesforce and smaller units on Zoho, and it works only because nobody tries to make the two models agree. If you are syncing them, decide the owner of each field first: a loop spends Salesforce's daily org budget and Zoho's daily credits at the same time, and both are pools you share with everything else connected.
If the direction is away from Salesforce, do the export while the seats are still live. Cancelling first means paying again for access to your own records, which is both expensive and awkward to explain.
Salesforce or Zoho CRM, for you
Three questions, answered from the same records as the rest of this page. Nothing is sent anywhere and there is no result to email yourself.
Each answer leans one way. The recommendation appears here once you have picked at least two.
A tool like this can only weigh what is on the page. It does not know your segment, and the one test that does is the bake-off further down: real rows, cheapest entry on each side, spend divided by survivors.
Where an answer leans on a certification or an integration, it means that vendor publishes it on the pages this directory read, which is not the same as the other one lacking it. The sources are listed at the foot of the page.
Where the data comes from, and what you may do with it
The question that arrives late and expensively is not how good the data is, it is who is allowed to hold it. These are the fields each one returns, the coverage it claims and the compliance it publishes.
| Provider | Fields returned | Coverage | Compliance | Redistribution |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salesforce | CRM records, Work email, Firmographics | Global | SOC 1 ISO 27001 ISO 42001 | Not stated |
| Zoho CRM | CRM records, Work email, Firmographics | Global | GDPR DPA HIPAA | Not stated |
None of these states a redistribution position on its pricing or docs pages. Internally that never matters. Put the rows in something your customers can see and it becomes the question your legal team asks first.
Two practical notes that apply to every provider on this page. A compliance badge describes the vendor, not your use of it, so a GDPR DPA does not give you a lawful basis for the outreach you send. And every one of these vendors runs its own opt-out, which means a person who asks you to delete their record has to be removed from your copy as well as from theirs.
Moving between Salesforce and Zoho CRM
Most readers of this page are already on one of these two. A swap is four hours of code and a month of watching, and the order below is the one that catches the expensive mistakes while they are still free.
Measure the thing you are about to lose
Run 500 rows you already have through Salesforce and record the match rate, the fields that came back populated and the cost. Without that number a migration cannot be judged, because every provider looks cheaper per unit than the one you are paying for today.
Check the fields, not the field count
Zoho CRM returns every field Salesforce does, so nothing downstream has to change shape. Confirm the values rather than the keys: two providers can both return a mobile number and disagree about which one it is.
Rewrite the auth and the limits, in that order
Salesforce authenticates with OAuth 2.0. SOAP login() with a username and password retires in Summer 27. Zoho CRM uses OAuth 2.0, with per-scope consent.
The limits are the part that bites later. Salesforce rate: Daily org budget: 100,000 plus 1,000 per Enterprise license. 25 concurrent calls over 20s.
Zoho CRM rate: No per-second limit. Daily credit pool plus concurrency of 5 to 25 per org. A loop tuned to the first will either crawl or get throttled on the second.
Run both for one billing cycle
Keep the old key live and route a slice of real traffic to the new one. A month is the shortest honest test, because credit expiry, rollover and the overage rate only show up at renewal and those are where the surprises live.
Cancel on the renewal date, not before
Credits on most of these plans do not survive a downgrade. Check what happens to the balance you have already paid for, and time the switch so you are not buying the same records twice.
The step people skip is the first one, and it is the only one that cannot be done after the fact. Once the old key is off you have nothing to compare the new match rate against, so a provider that is quietly worse on your segment looks like a provider that is fine.
What practitioners say about Salesforce
The one part of this page that is not a vendor claim. Quotes are transcribed as written, linked to the thread, and nothing here is the only source for a figure in the tables above.
Paying per seat for integrations is what pushed teams into sharing credentials
[...] I've seen SO much horrible security practise and API user sharing at small/mid size companies who just can't afford a proper full user license for each dedicated integration. Can't wait to share this news tomorrow to my boss.
r/salesforce · March 2023 · 11 points
Written when API-only licenses arrived, and it is the clearest practitioner account of what this page's pricing section describes. When a license costs US$125 a seat with the API add-on, a company with six integrations is being asked for six seats for software rather than people, and the thing that gives way is the credential.
The security consequence is the part a rate card does not show. One shared integration user across six systems means no way to tell which of them made a call, revoked access for one revokes it for all, and the daily org budget drains with no attribution. Price the integration users before you commit, not after.
The list price is a starting position, and practitioners treat it that way
They will fight you tooth and nail to maintain ACV. The trick is to figure out how to get leverage on them. [...] My standard approach: 1.Start renewals 6+ months out 2.Assess SF's current capability and how it aligns to your business goals (is it enabling you or holding you back) 3.Evaluate alternative vendors and position them to salesforce 4+ months out from renewal This playbook regularly knocks 15-30% out of a contract in a flat renewal.
r/salesforce · December 2025 · 9 points
Every figure in the cost model above is a list price, and this is the practitioner version of that caveat. A discount in this range would move three Core seats from US$585 a month to somewhere between US$410 and US$497, which changes the answer against a cheaper CRM at the margin and does not change it at the floor.
Treat the percentages as a signal rather than a number you can plan on: they are one person's experience of their own renewals, not a published rate. What is worth copying is the timing, because leverage is a function of how long you left yourself and that part costs nothing.
14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.
The wider field for both
A two-way comparison assumes the answer is one of these two. Often it is not, and the reason you are comparing them at all points somewhere else entirely: Salesforce alternatives both start from the reason people leave.
Related comparisons
The 26 providers behind every pairing here are in the main listing.
Pairings that share a side with this one: Pipedrive vs Salesforce, Pipedrive vs Zoho CRM and Attio vs Salesforce.
And: HubSpot vs Zoho CRM and HubSpot vs Salesforce. Every comparison in the directory is on the compare hub.
HubSpot API vs Salesforce
A CRM that gives the API away against one that sells it by the seat.
Compare them →Pipedrive vs Salesforce
US$14 a seat with the API included against US$125 a seat before the first call.
Compare them →Attio API vs Salesforce
Define the schema in code for free, or buy the deepest API in the category by the seat.
Compare them →Comparison pages end at the rate card. Your list does not.
We run the bake-off on your actual data, pick the provider order, and build the pipeline behind it: waterfall routing, credit ceilings and the write-back that puts a verified contact in front of a rep the same day.
Worked with 300+ companies. A senior operator runs your account.
Salesforce and Zoho CRM, answered
Read from the same records that drive the table above.
Is Salesforce or Zoho CRM cheaper?
On the entry plan it is Zoho CRM, US$14/user/mo against Salesforce at US$125/seat/mo. The entry price is the comparable figure, because they do not meter the same thing.
Can I try Salesforce and Zoho CRM for free?
Salesforce: No free tier with API access. Developer Edition is free and gets 15,000 calls a day. Zoho CRM: Free edition for up to 3 users, with 5,000 API credits a day.
What are the rate limits on Salesforce and Zoho CRM?
Salesforce: Daily org budget: 100,000 plus 1,000 per Enterprise license. 25 concurrent calls over 20s. Zoho CRM: No per-second limit. Daily credit pool plus concurrency of 5 to 25 per org.
Do Salesforce and Zoho CRM both have MCP servers?
Both do. Salesforce: Hosted MCP servers, plus a DX server in beta. Zoho CRM: Four Zoho CRM MCP servers, OAuth.
Which is better, Salesforce or Zoho CRM?
Salesforce vs Zoho CRM is the clearest price comparison in this category because the two meter the API almost the same way. Both give the org a daily allowance that grows with licenses: Salesforce is 100,000 calls plus 1,000 per Enterprise license, Zoho is 50,000 credits plus 250 to 2,000 per license by edition.
What are the downsides of Salesforce and Zoho CRM?
Measured against each other rather than in general. Salesforce: there is no free tier, so you cannot measure your own match rate before paying. Zoho CRM: none of the structural gaps in this answer; the limits section carries its operational ones.
Can you use Salesforce and Zoho CRM together?
Both are systems of record and the price gap is nine to one, so this is a replacement decision rather than a stack. Running both is usually the result of an acquisition rather than a plan.
Can I migrate from Salesforce to Zoho CRM without losing data?
The fields survive: Zoho CRM returns everything Salesforce does. What changes is the auth and the limits. Either way, measure your match rate on 500 rows before you switch, because that number is the one you cannot recover afterwards.