HubSpot vs Pipedrive
HubSpot API
Best free CRM endpoint Free tierPipedrive
Best CRM API for small sales teams US$14/HubSpot vs Pipedrive for an API build comes down to which failure mode you would rather debug. HubSpot throttles you in the moment and you back off. Pipedrive lets you run flat out and then stops for the rest of the day. Build on HubSpot if you want to prove the integration before anyone signs a contract, and buy Pipedrive if the sales team wants a cheap CRM they will actually use and the sync is straightforward.
Where they actually differ
Every value comes from the same record that drives the CRM and sync APIs listing, so this table cannot disagree with the cards. Accented tags are data one provider returns and the other does not.
| Compare | HubSpot API | Pipedrive |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Write back to the CRM your team already lives in | A daily token budget, not a request limit |
| Entry price | Free tier | US$14/seat/mo |
| Unit cost | $0.0000 free tier | Not sold by the unit |
| Billing model | Free tier Subscription Per seat | Per seat Subscription |
| Free tier | Free CRM including API access | No free tier. 14-day trial, no card. |
| GTM motion covered | Sync Engage | Sync Engage |
| Data returned | CRM recordsWork emailFirmographics | CRM recordsWork emailFirmographics |
| MCP server | Yes Official remote and local servers | Yes https://mcp.pipedrive.ai/mcp |
| Interfaces | REST API MCP server Webhooks Bulk or async Native in Clay n8n node | REST API MCP server Webhooks n8n node |
| Auth | Private app token or OAuth 2.0 | API token from the app, or OAuth 2.0 for distributed apps |
| Rate limits | 100 req/10s on Free and Starter, 190 on Professional. Daily cap shared across apps. | Daily token budget: 30,000 x plan multiplier x seats. 429 when spent. |
| Coverage | Global | Global |
| Compliance | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II CCPA | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II |
| Best for | Best free CRM endpoint | Best CRM API for small sales teams |
Pick each one when
HubSpot API
- You want to build and test before paying.
- Marketing and sales objects need to live in the same place.
- A per-10-second limit is easier to design around than a daily pool.
Pipedrive
- A small team wants the cheapest paid seat here at $14.
- The integration reads and writes directly rather than searching.
- You would rather pay per seat than get moved onto a bigger plan.
There is no match rate to test here, so the bake-off is about shape and headroom. Build the object you actually sell on in each of them, using one free tier and one trial, write a thousand records through the API, and watch which one needs a custom object and which one needs a plan upgrade to take the write rate. An afternoon, and it surfaces the data-modeling work before it is in production rather than after.
What each one costs, tier by tier
Both publish a full rate card, so this comparison runs on numbers rather than on adjectives. HubSpot API lists 4 tiers and Pipedrive lists 4. Every figure is read off the vendor's own pricing page, and the pages they came from are listed at the foot of this one.
| The short version | HubSpot API | Pipedrive |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | Starter, $20 | Lite, US$14 |
| Tiers published | 4 | 4 |
| Free tier | Free CRM including API access | No free tier. 14-day trial, no card. |
| Unit cost at entry | $0 free tier | Not sold by the unit |
The cheapest paid plan is rarely the plan you end up on, because what moves you up a tier is usually volume rather than a feature. The two rate cards below are what you are choosing between.
HubSpot API
HubSpot API publishes 4 tiers, one of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $20 to Quote.
Free
- Full CRM object access over the API
- Free Marketing, Sales, Service, Content, Data and Revenue tools
- 100 calls per 10s, 250,000 a day
- No credit card required
Starter
- Same API, same limits as Free
- 500 HubSpot Credits included
- 1,000 marketing contacts
- From $7/seat/mo on the current new-customer offer
Professional
- 190 calls per 10s per app
- 625,000 calls a day per account
- Where the limit increase starts to matter
Enterprise
- 190 calls per 10s per app
- 1,000,000 calls a day per account
- Highest published daily ceiling
Pipedrive
Pipedrive publishes 4 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from US$14 to US$79.
Lite
- US$168 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 1, so 30,000 a day per seat
- Full API access
Growth
- US$468 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 2, so 60,000 a day per seat
- Email automation and follow-ups
Premium
- US$708 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 5, so 150,000 a day per seat
- Pipedrive marks this the most popular tier
Ultimate
- US$948 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 7, so 210,000 a day per seat
- The complete suite
What HubSpot and Pipedrive cost at your volume
Put your own volume in. The model picks the cheapest published plan that covers it on each side, which is the question a rate card cannot answer and the one that decides the bill.
HubSpot API
Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.
Pipedrive
Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.
Plans are read from each vendor's own pricing page and the model picks the cheapest one that covers you, so these are list prices before any discount you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount.
What a year costs at three volumes
The same plan-fit arithmetic as the model above, run out to a year, because an annual number is what a budget actually asks for. HubSpot API and Pipedrive are priced per seat, so those columns do not move with volume. The figure shown is 3 seats for a year.
| A year at | HubSpot API | Pipedrive |
|---|---|---|
| 1,000 a month | $720 Starter | $504 Lite |
| 10,000 a month | $720 Starter | $504 Lite |
| 50,000 a month | $720 Starter | $504 Lite |
2 of the 2 providers here publish enough to be put in this table. These are list prices on the published plan that covers each volume, so they are the number before you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount by between a fifth and a half.
How this plays out once it is running
HubSpot is free to start, including API access, and limits you at 100 requests per 10 seconds on Free and Starter, 190 on Professional, with a daily cap shared across your apps. Pipedrive has no free tier at all, $14 a seat, and limits you on a daily budget of 30,000 tokens times a plan multiplier times seats, where the cost depends on the endpoint: 2 tokens to read a record, 20 for a list, 40 for a search.
The token model is the one that catches people out, because the bill arrives as a dead integration rather than as an invoice. A dedupe step that searches before every write will exhaust a Lite budget without anybody noticing the design decision that caused it.
What each one is genuinely good at
Not a feature list. These are the things that make somebody keep paying after the novelty has worn off, which is a different question from what the marketing page leads with.
HubSpot API
Free, including the API
HubSpot's free CRM carries full object access over REST. Pipedrive has no free tier at all, only a 14-day trial, so the cheapest way to prove an integration works is on HubSpot and it costs nothing. That gap matters most to exactly the team Pipedrive is aimed at.
Official MCP servers, remote and local
Pipedrive ships an MCP server too, so both are covered, but HubSpot publishes two: one remote for the CRM and one local for builds. If your agents need to run against a local workspace as well as the live account, that second one has no equivalent here.
Pipedrive
The API comes with a US$14 seat
Every paid Pipedrive seat includes full API access, and the entry seat is US$14 a month on annual billing. There is no add-on, no gated tier and no per-call charge. Against Salesforce's US$125 that is the cheapest programmatic CRM access in this directory by a wide margin.
The cost of every call is published, so you can compute your ceiling
The daily budget is 30,000 tokens multiplied by a plan multiplier and by your seat count, and each endpoint has a published token cost: a search is 40 and a single read is 2. That means you can work out your exact daily capacity on paper before you write anything, which no other CRM here lets you do.
Buying seats buys throughput
The multiplier runs from 1 on Lite to 7 on Ultimate, and the budget is per seat, so a five-seat Premium account carries 750,000 tokens a day. Throughput and headcount move together, which is either the right model or the wrong one depending on whether your integration serves people or runs alone.
Where each one falls down
Every provider on this site has a case it handles badly, and the people who find out are the ones who bought it for that case. These are the ones worth knowing before you sign rather than after.
HubSpot API
The daily cap is shared, and it is not yours alone
The per-10-second rate is per app; the daily cap is per account and every connected app spends it. On a HubSpot portal with a marketplace integration or two, your pipeline is competing for budget it did not ask for and cannot see from its own logs.
The useful tier is quote-only
The rate goes from 100 to 190 requests per 10 seconds at Professional, and Professional is not priced on the CRM pricing page. The free tier is genuinely free and the tier you grow into is a conversation.
Pipedrive
No free tier, only a fortnight
Fourteen days with no card, and then it is a paid seat. For a prototype that needs to sit idle for a month while somebody approves it, that clock is the problem rather than the price.
A naive integration burns the budget twenty times faster
A search costs 40 tokens and a read costs 2. Code that searches for a record it could have fetched by id is not slightly more expensive, it is twenty times more expensive, and the failure arrives as a 429 at the end of the day rather than as a slow response. Cache your ids.
A small team has a small ceiling
Because the budget multiplies by seats, a two-person team on Lite has 60,000 tokens a day, which is 1,500 searches. An unattended pipeline on a small account hits that long before the people do.
Using HubSpot and Pipedrive together
A two-way comparison assumes the answer is one of them. On this pairing it often is not, and the arrangement below is what teams actually end up running.
These two do the same job, so running both is a migration rather than a design. The reason it happens is almost always that marketing arrived on HubSpot's free tier and sales was already on Pipedrive, and nobody wanted to be the one to consolidate.
If you are in that state, the API question is which system owns a contact's email address and which one is downstream. Pick one owner per field and make the other side read-only for it. Two-way sync between two CRMs that both believe they are authoritative produces a write loop, and on Pipedrive each loop iteration spends tokens from a budget you can calculate and will not enjoy watching.
The honest sequence is to price the consolidation before you build the sync. Three Pipedrive seats are US$42 a month and HubSpot Starter is US$60 for the same three, so for most teams this is not a cost decision at all, it is a decision about which object model you want to live in.
HubSpot or Pipedrive, for you
Three questions, answered from the same records as the rest of this page. Nothing is sent anywhere and there is no result to email yourself.
Each answer leans one way. The recommendation appears here once you have picked at least two.
A tool like this can only weigh what is on the page. It does not know your segment, and the one test that does is the bake-off further down: real rows, cheapest entry on each side, spend divided by survivors.
Where an answer leans on a certification or an integration, it means that vendor publishes it on the pages this directory read, which is not the same as the other one lacking it. The sources are listed at the foot of the page.
Where the data comes from, and what you may do with it
The question that arrives late and expensively is not how good the data is, it is who is allowed to hold it. These are the fields each one returns, the coverage it claims and the compliance it publishes.
| Provider | Fields returned | Coverage | Compliance | Redistribution |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HubSpot API | CRM records, Work email, Firmographics | Global | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II CCPA | Not stated |
| Pipedrive | CRM records, Work email, Firmographics | Global | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II | Not stated |
None of these states a redistribution position on its pricing or docs pages. Internally that never matters. Put the rows in something your customers can see and it becomes the question your legal team asks first.
Two practical notes that apply to every provider on this page. A compliance badge describes the vendor, not your use of it, so a GDPR DPA does not give you a lawful basis for the outreach you send. And every one of these vendors runs its own opt-out, which means a person who asks you to delete their record has to be removed from your copy as well as from theirs.
Moving between HubSpot and Pipedrive
Most readers of this page are already on one of these two. A swap is four hours of code and a month of watching, and the order below is the one that catches the expensive mistakes while they are still free.
Measure the thing you are about to lose
Run 500 rows you already have through HubSpot API and record the match rate, the fields that came back populated and the cost. Without that number a migration cannot be judged, because every provider looks cheaper per unit than the one you are paying for today.
Check the fields, not the field count
Pipedrive returns every field HubSpot API does, so nothing downstream has to change shape. Confirm the values rather than the keys: two providers can both return a mobile number and disagree about which one it is.
Rewrite the auth and the limits, in that order
HubSpot API authenticates with private app token or OAuth 2.0. Pipedrive uses API token from the app, or OAuth 2.0 for distributed apps.
The limits are the part that bites later. HubSpot API rate: 100 req/10s on Free and Starter, 190 on Professional. Daily cap shared across apps.
Pipedrive rate: Daily token budget: 30,000 x plan multiplier x seats. 429 when spent. A loop tuned to the first will either crawl or get throttled on the second.
Run both for one billing cycle
Keep the old key live and route a slice of real traffic to the new one. A month is the shortest honest test, because credit expiry, rollover and the overage rate only show up at renewal and those are where the surprises live.
Cancel on the renewal date, not before
Credits on most of these plans do not survive a downgrade. Check what happens to the balance you have already paid for, and time the switch so you are not buying the same records twice.
The step people skip is the first one, and it is the only one that cannot be done after the fact. Once the old key is off you have nothing to compare the new match rate against, so a provider that is quietly worse on your segment looks like a provider that is fine.
What practitioners say about HubSpot
The one part of this page that is not a vendor claim. Quotes are transcribed as written, linked to the thread, and nothing here is the only source for a figure in the tables above.
The per-app rate limit is why people end up running several private apps
API limits are not being respected or the sync isn't really set up in a way that someone with knowledge of the api. They may not be using a queue system. They haven't optimized and paid attention to api limits. [...] This may need to be done using multiple private app keys because you are hitting specific limits. [...] If these updates are happening all at once, batch and import/export APIs are the way to go
r/hubspot · April 2025 · 2 points
This corroborates the shape of HubSpot's limits rather than the numbers. The rate, 100 requests per 10 seconds on Free and Starter and 190 on Professional, is per app, which is exactly why splitting work across several private apps raises throughput at all.
The part that is easy to miss is that the daily cap is not per app, so the same trick does nothing for it. Splitting a sync across three private apps triples the requests a second you can make and shares one daily budget between them, which is a fix for the wrong half of the problem if the daily cap is what you were hitting.
The search endpoint is the one to design around
When building custom integrations or custom data migrations, always set the external ID as a unique property so you can use the unique identifier endpoint to read/query records... instead of using the search endpoint which has a 5 calls per second limit. Use batch endpoints as much as possible.
r/hubspot · August 2025 · 10 points
The same lesson the Pipedrive side of this directory records as a token cost, arriving here as a separate rate. Search is the expensive call on every CRM in this listing and it is the one a first integration reaches for, because searching by email is the obvious way to find a contact when you have not stored its id.
Storing an external id on creation is the fix in both products, and it is cheaper to do on day one than to retrofit. Treat this as a design note rather than as a published figure: HubSpot's own documentation is the authority on the per-endpoint limits.
14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.
What practitioners say about Pipedrive
The one part of this page that is not a vendor claim. Quotes are transcribed as written, linked to the thread, and nothing here is the only source for a figure in the tables above.
A third-party integration spends your token budget, and you find out late
[...] co-founder of Outfunnel. You're right that our Pipedrive API usage wasn't well optimized initially. At the time, we had no advance notice that API usage would become metered, and we were caught off guard by the change. Sorry if we burned through your limits during those first weeks! That said, we responded quickly once the issue became apparent, and since those initial hiccups, we've had no recurring problems with excessive or unnecessary API consumption.
r/pipedrive · June 2026 · 2 points
A vendor on the record about spending somebody else's allowance, which is the clearest illustration of what a shared daily budget means. Pipedrive's budget is 30,000 tokens times a plan multiplier times your seats, pooled across every integration on the account, so an app you installed from the marketplace draws on the same pool as the pipeline you wrote.
The practical note is the one the thread starts from: you will notice through a 429 on your own code rather than through a bill. Audit what is connected before you size a backfill, and check the marketplace apps first.
Ask for fewer fields before you buy more tokens
You can actually bypass this efficiency issue without buying their ridiculous $100 top-up package by switching your AI or integration to use Pipedrive's modern API v2 infrastructure. [...] v2 endpoints now support sparse filtering via a query parameter that lets you request only the exact keys you care about, shrinking a massive 2,000-character response down to a tiny snippet and drastically cutting down data over-fetching.
r/pipedrive · July 2026 · 5 points
The same lesson as the token costs in the table above, applied one level down. Pipedrive meters complexity rather than calls, so the lever is how much you ask for rather than how often. Requesting only the fields you use is the cheapest optimization available and it needs no plan change.
Treat the specifics as a pointer rather than as a published figure. Pipedrive's own API reference is the authority on which v2 endpoints accept a field selector and what each one costs in tokens, and that is the page to read before rewriting a client.
14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.
Where each one sits in a working pipeline
Neither of these is bought in isolation. These are the worked stacks on this site that use one or both, with the cost run end to end.
The wider field for both
A two-way comparison assumes the answer is one of these two. Often it is not, and the reason you are comparing them at all points somewhere else entirely: HubSpot alternatives and Pipedrive alternatives both start from the reason people leave.
HubSpot API alternatives
4The free tier is the best in the category. The bill when you outgrow it is why people look at HubSpot alternatives.
See the alternatives →Pipedrive alternatives
4A $14 seat with the API included. The daily token budget is what people hit before they start looking.
See the alternatives →Everything in Sync
6The full category these two sit in, filtered by data returned, billing model and entry price.
Browse the category →Related comparisons
The 26 providers behind every pairing here are in the main listing.
Pairings that share a side with this one: HubSpot vs Freshsales, Pipedrive vs Zoho CRM and HubSpot vs Copper.
And: Pipedrive vs Salesforce and HubSpot vs Close. Every comparison in the directory is on the compare hub.
HubSpot API vs Attio API
A free CRM API against a CRM whose data model you define in code.
Compare them →HubSpot API vs Salesforce
A CRM that gives the API away against one that sells it by the seat.
Compare them →Pipedrive vs Salesforce
US$14 a seat with the API included against US$125 a seat before the first call.
Compare them →Comparison pages end at the rate card. Your list does not.
We run the bake-off on your actual data, pick the provider order, and build the pipeline behind it: waterfall routing, credit ceilings and the write-back that puts a verified contact in front of a rep the same day.
Worked with 300+ companies. A senior operator runs your account.
HubSpot and Pipedrive, answered
Read from the same records that drive the table above.
Is HubSpot or Pipedrive cheaper?
On the entry plan it is HubSpot, free against Pipedrive at US$14/seat/mo. The entry price is the comparable figure, because they do not meter the same thing.
Can I try HubSpot and Pipedrive for free?
HubSpot: Free CRM including API access. Pipedrive: No free tier. 14-day trial, no card.
What are the rate limits on HubSpot and Pipedrive?
HubSpot: 100 req/10s on Free and Starter, 190 on Professional. Daily cap shared across apps. Pipedrive: Daily token budget: 30,000 x plan multiplier x seats. 429 when spent.
Do HubSpot and Pipedrive both have MCP servers?
Both do. HubSpot: Official remote and local servers. Pipedrive: https://mcp.pipedrive.ai/mcp.
Which is better, HubSpot or Pipedrive?
HubSpot vs Pipedrive for an API build comes down to which failure mode you would rather debug. HubSpot throttles you in the moment and you back off. Pipedrive lets you run flat out and then stops for the rest of the day.
What are the downsides of HubSpot and Pipedrive?
Measured against each other rather than in general. HubSpot: none of the structural gaps in this answer; the limits section carries its operational ones. Pipedrive: there is no free tier, only a trial, so test your own list inside its limits before paying.
Can you use HubSpot and Pipedrive together?
These two do the same job, so running both is a migration rather than a design. The reason it happens is almost always that marketing arrived on HubSpot's free tier and sales was already on Pipedrive, and nobody wanted to be the one to consolidate.
Can I migrate from HubSpot to Pipedrive without losing data?
The fields survive: Pipedrive returns everything HubSpot does. What changes is the auth and the limits. Either way, measure your match rate on 500 rows before you switch, because that number is the one you cannot recover afterwards.