Skip to content
Head to head · Verified 8 to 19 Oct 2026

Clay vs People Data Labs

Clay

Best orchestration layer $167/mo
vs

People Data Labs

Best for building on top of $98/mo
Short answer

Clay maximizes the chance of finding a row. People Data Labs maximizes what you are allowed to do with it. Clay's rows inherit the terms of whichever of its 150 providers answered, which is fine internally and genuinely hard to reason about in a product. If the output is customer-facing, that ambiguity is the whole argument.

Side by side

Where they actually differ

Every value comes from the same record that drives the Enrichment APIs listing, so this table cannot disagree with the cards. Accented tags are data one provider returns and the other does not.

Compare Clay People Data Labs
What it isOne table that fans out to 150+ providersA licensed dataset you can put inside your own product
Entry price$167/mo$98/mo
Unit cost$0.045 per data credit$0.28 per record
Billing modelSubscription Credit packs Free tierSubscription Credit packs Free tier
Free tierFree plan, 500 actions and 100 data credits per monthFree plan, up to 100 credits per month with contact data obfuscated
GTM motion coveredSource Enrich SignalSource Enrich
Data returned
Work emailPersonal emailMobile phoneFirmographicsTechnographicsJob postingsJob changesIntent and newsLinkedIn profile
Work emailPersonal emailMobile phoneFirmographicsLinkedIn profile
MCP serverYes
https://api.clay.com/v3/mcp
No
InterfacesREST API MCP server Webhooks Bulk or async Native in ClayREST API Bulk or async Native in Clay n8n node
AuthOptional token on a webhook source. The HTTP API column uses the other service's keyAPI key in the X-Api-Key header
Rate limitsConcurrency governed by plan, not a published per-minute capPer key, fixed window, separate per endpoint. Reported in the response headers.
CoverageGlobalGlobal
ComplianceGDPR DPA SOC 2 Type IIGDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II CCPA
Best forBest orchestration layerBest for building on top of
The decision

Pick each one when

Clay

  • Internal use, and coverage is the constraint.
  • You want to change providers without changing contracts.
  • Your team works in tables, not code.

People Data Labs

  • Output is customer-facing and terms must be unambiguous.
  • You need one consistent schema, not 150.
  • Bulk warehouse loads rather than row-by-row lookups.
The test that settles it

Neither vendor publishes a match rate you could hold them to, so the rate card only tells you half the story. Take 500 rows from the segment you actually sell into, run them through both free tiers, verify both result sets, and divide spend by survivors. Half a day and about $20, and on a close pair it changes the answer often enough to be worth it.

Plan by plan

What each one costs, tier by tier

Both publish a full rate card, so this comparison runs on numbers rather than on adjectives. Clay lists 4 tiers and People Data Labs lists 3. Every figure is read off the vendor's own pricing page, and the pages they came from are listed at the foot of this one.

The short versionClayPeople Data Labs
Cheapest paid planLaunch, $167Self-Serve, From $98
Tiers published43
Free tierFree plan, 500 actions and 100 data credits per monthFree plan, up to 100 credits per month with contact data obfuscated
Unit cost at entry$0.0452 per data credit$0.28 per record

The cheapest paid plan is rarely the plan you end up on, because what moves you up a tier is usually volume rather than a feature. The two rate cards below are what you are choosing between.

Clay

Clay publishes 4 tiers, one of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $167 to Custom.

Free

$0
500 actions/mo
  • 100 data credits a month, 1,200 a year
  • Unlimited seats and tables, up to 200 rows per table
  • Multi-provider waterfalls and Claygent
  • Bring your own API key

Launch

$167
/mo, from 15,000 actions
  • 2,500 data credits a month, 30,000 a year, unused ones roll over up to 2x
  • Phone number enrichment
  • Job change and other signals, unlimited Audiences search
  • Send through the Clay Sequencer or an integration

Growth

$446
/mo, from 40,000 actions
  • 6,000 data credits a month, 72,000 a year, unused ones roll over up to 2x
  • Integrate with any HTTP API. This is the tier that unlocks it
  • Auto-sync and enrich CRM, warehouse sync
  • Web intent signals, webhook-driven automation

Enterprise

Custom
quote
  • Custom action and data credit volume, and Clay API access for calling Clay from your own code
  • Auto-delete, so one webhook takes unlimited submissions

People Data Labs

People Data Labs publishes 3 tiers, one of them free, and the paid ladder runs from From $98 to Custom.

Free

$0
up to 100 credits/mo
  • Full access to the Person APIs for testing
  • Contact data is obfuscated, so emails and phones are masked
  • No commitment, sign up and go

Self-Serve

From $98
/mo, from 350 credits
  • Contact data included and unmasked
  • Access to premium fields
  • Monthly or annual subscription
  • CSV enrichment and email support

Enterprise

Custom
bulk data
  • Custom volumes and annual contracts
  • Access to all APIs, plus Data License Feeds
  • Formal data testing before you commit
  • Additional field bundles
Cost model

What Clay and People Data Labs cost at your volume

Put your own volume in. The model picks the cheapest published plan that covers it on each side, which is the question a rate card cannot answer and the one that decides the bill.

Clay

Priced on the volume you use, so the plan that covers a normal month is the one that decides the bill.

Plan that covers itGrowth
Monthly$446
Twelve months$5,352
Included40,000 actions
Your rate at this volume$0.0446 per action
API gatecosts you $279 a month over Launch

People Data Labs

Priced on the volume you use, so the plan that covers a normal month is the one that decides the bill.

Plan that covers itPast the published ladder
Largest publishedSelf-Serve, 350 credits
At your volumeQuoted
Ask forthe per-credit rate above 350

Plans are read from each vendor's own pricing page and the model picks the cheapest one that covers you, so these are list prices before any discount you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount.

Twelve months

What a year costs at three volumes

The same plan-fit arithmetic as the model above, run out to a year, because an annual number is what a budget actually asks for. Every column moves with volume, because all of these meter usage rather than seats.

A year atClayPeople Data Labs
1,000 a month$5,352
Growth
Quoted
10,000 a month$5,352
Growth
Quoted
50,000 a monthQuotedQuoted

1 of the 2 providers here publish enough to be put in this table. These are list prices on the published plan that covers each volume, so they are the number before you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount by between a fifth and a half.

In practice

How this plays out once it is running

Clay maximizes the chance of finding a row. People Data Labs maximizes what you are permitted to do with the row you found. Those are different optimizations and only one of them matters to legal.

The ambiguity is the issue rather than the terms. A Clay row inherits the license of whichever of its 150 providers answered, and you often cannot tell which one did. For internal use nobody cares. For a product, a data provenance question you cannot answer is a problem that surfaces at exactly the wrong moment, which is what PDL is really selling against.

Strengths

What each one is genuinely good at

Not a feature list. These are the things that make somebody keep paying after the novelty has worn off, which is a different question from what the marketing page leads with.

Clay

Coverage borrowed from about 150 vendors

On one contract, with the waterfall logic as a column setting. People Data Labs is one dataset, however good, so on a segment nobody covers well Clay has 150 chances and PDL has one.

You can change provider without changing contracts

A column setting rather than a procurement cycle. For a team whose segment keeps moving, that flexibility is the product, and it is not something a dataset vendor can offer at any price.

The team can work in tables rather than in code

Research steps, branching and a permissions model for non-engineers. People Data Labs is an API and a bulk feed; there is nothing to open.

People Data Labs

Terms you can answer for

A stated redistribution position. A Clay row inherits the terms of whichever of its providers answered, and you often cannot tell which one did, so for anything customer-facing this is the one that can be defended.

One consistent schema instead of 150

Every record has the same fields and the same semantics. A waterfall returns whatever the winning provider returns, and normalising that across vendors is work that never finishes.

Bulk endpoints built for warehouse loads

Person, company, job title and school datasets under one key, with Data License Feeds above that. Clay is row-by-row by design and prices accordingly.

Limits

Where each one falls down

Every provider on this site has a case it handles badly, and the people who find out are the ones who bought it for that case. These are the ones worth knowing before you sign rather than after.

Clay

Provenance is hard to answer

A row inherits the terms of whichever provider answered, and the answer to which one is often unavailable. Internally that never matters. In a product it is the question you eventually have to answer, and the honest answer may be that you cannot.

Two meters on every row it finds

A found contact costs an action for Clay's work plus the data credits of whichever provider answered, $0.0452 a credit on annual Launch, and the credit count depends on which provider answered. A miss costs nothing. The HTTP API is also two tiers up, at $446 against $167.

People Data Labs

The highest price per record here, at $0.28

Roughly six times a Clay data credit at $0.0452. If the rows never leave your CRM, you are paying a licensing premium for a permission you will not use.

One dataset, so one chance

There is no fallback when the record is not in it. On the segments a waterfall exists for, that is the difference between a row and a blank.

The free plan masks contact data

A hundred credits a month with emails and phones obfuscated, so you can evaluate the schema and not the thing you were evaluating.

Both

Using Clay and People Data Labs together

A two-way comparison assumes the answer is one of them. On this pairing it often is not, and the arrangement below is what teams actually end up running.

The split that works is by destination rather than by coverage: People Data Labs for the rows that go into something you sell, Clay for the rows your own team works.

That is not a waterfall and should not be built as one. Mixing the two into a single pipeline reintroduces the exact problem the license was bought to solve, because a record that came through Clay cannot be proved to have come from a redistributable source.

Keep them in separate pipelines with separate destinations, and the question of which provider a customer-facing row came from answers itself.

Decide

Clay or People Data Labs, for you

Five questions, answered from the same records as the rest of this page. Nothing is sent anywhere and there is no result to email yourself.

Will an agent be calling this?
Do you need technographics?
Are you buying one step or the whole motion?
Do you need CCPA published up front?
Is there budget approved for this yet?
Answer the questions above

Each answer leans one way. The recommendation appears here once you have picked at least two.

A tool like this can only weigh what is on the page. It does not know your segment, and the one test that does is the bake-off further down: real rows, cheapest entry on each side, spend divided by survivors.

Where an answer leans on a certification or an integration, it means that vendor publishes it on the pages this directory read, which is not the same as the other one lacking it. The sources are listed at the foot of the page.

Provenance

Where the data comes from, and what you may do with it

The question that arrives late and expensively is not how good the data is, it is who is allowed to hold it. These are the fields each one returns, the coverage it claims and the compliance it publishes.

ProviderFields returnedCoverageComplianceRedistribution
ClayWork email, Personal email, Mobile phone, Firmographics, Technographics, Job postings, Job changes, Intent and news, LinkedIn profileGlobalGDPR DPA SOC 2 Type IINot stated
People Data LabsWork email, Personal email, Mobile phone, Firmographics, LinkedIn profileGlobalGDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II CCPANot stated

None of these states a redistribution position on its pricing or docs pages. Internally that never matters. Put the rows in something your customers can see and it becomes the question your legal team asks first.

Two practical notes that apply to every provider on this page. A compliance badge describes the vendor, not your use of it, so a GDPR DPA does not give you a lawful basis for the outreach you send. And every one of these vendors runs its own opt-out, which means a person who asks you to delete their record has to be removed from your copy as well as from theirs.

Migration

Moving between Clay and People Data Labs

Most readers of this page are already on one of these two. A swap is four hours of code and a month of watching, and the order below is the one that catches the expensive mistakes while they are still free.

01

Measure the thing you are about to lose

Run 500 rows you already have through Clay and record the match rate, the fields that came back populated and the cost. Without that number a migration cannot be judged, because every provider looks cheaper per unit than the one you are paying for today.

02

Check the fields, not the field count

People Data Labs does not return Technographics, Job postings, Job changes and Intent and news, which Clay does. If anything downstream reads technographics, that is a change to your pipeline and not just to your vendor.

03

Rewrite the auth and the limits, in that order

Clay authenticates with optional token on a webhook source. The HTTP API column uses the other service's key. People Data Labs uses API key in the X-Api-Key header.

The limits are the part that bites later. Clay rate: Concurrency governed by plan, not a published per-minute cap.

People Data Labs rate: Per key, fixed window, separate per endpoint. Reported in the response headers. A loop tuned to the first will either crawl or get throttled on the second.

04

Run both for one billing cycle

Keep the old key live and route a slice of real traffic to the new one. A month is the shortest honest test, because credit expiry, rollover and the overage rate only show up at renewal and those are where the surprises live.

05

Cancel on the renewal date, not before

Credits on most of these plans do not survive a downgrade. Check what happens to the balance you have already paid for, and time the switch so you are not buying the same records twice.

The step people skip is the first one, and it is the only one that cannot be done after the fact. Once the old key is off you have nothing to compare the new match rate against, so a provider that is quietly worse on your segment looks like a provider that is fine.

What practitioners say

What practitioners say about Clay

The one part of this page that is not a vendor claim. Quotes are transcribed as written, linked to the thread, and nothing here is the only source for a figure in the tables above.

Use it as a filter, not as a bulk provider

One thing I've seen with Clay is that it feels expensive when you use it like a bulk data provider, but much more reasonable when you use it as a filter first. I rarely enrich everything. I narrow the list with cheap signals and firmographics, then only run waterfall email/phone on leads that actually look worth it. That shift alone cut my credit usage a lot, and the outreach quality went up because fewer bad leads made it through. At that point you're paying for decisions, not just data.

r/gtmengineering · January 2026 · 16 points

This is the argument the pricing section makes, arrived at from the other direction. The lever that moves a Clay bill is not the rate, it is how many rows ever reach the expensive step. Narrowing on firmographics first costs almost nothing and keeps the paid enrichments for rows worth contacting.

It also explains why a team that thinks it wants to leave Clay often does not need to. The complaint is usually the spend, and the fix is usually an ordering change rather than a migration.

Bringing your own keys is a real line item, not a hack

Working in tech sales at a large 8 figure SaaS, our current setup for the team is as follows: [...] We do still have Clay but we bring our own API keys to keep the cost down

r/gtmengineering · January 2026 · 32 points

Clay lets you connect your own provider keys instead of spending its credits on that provider. The team above keeps the workbench and pays the underlying vendors directly, which is the arrangement that makes Clay a router rather than a reseller.

Worth knowing before you compare rate cards, because it changes what you are comparing. A Clay bill with your own keys attached is a subscription for the logic; a Clay bill without them is a subscription plus a margin on every lookup. Clay's own documentation is the authority on which integrations accept your key.

14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.

What practitioners say

What practitioners say about People Data Labs

The one part of this page that is not a vendor claim. Quotes are transcribed as written, linked to the thread, and nothing here is the only source for a figure in the tables above.

The accuracy spread between vendors is smaller than the one inside your own list

it's nearly all the same at the end of the day... there's a marginal 5-10% difference between the vendors but overall 55-65% data accuracy / validity overall. [...] have a team of 20+ (or however many) outsourced data integrity workers through fiver or whatnot... it's what the rich tech companies like AirBnB and Uber do to have the most up to date data...

r/SalesOperations · November 2024 · 3 points

The range here lands on the assumption the waterfall stack on this site is modeled with, which is a 55% first pass. That figure is labeled as modeled on every page that uses it, because no provider in this category publishes a match rate you can hold it to, so an independent practitioner arriving at 55 to 65% is the closest thing to corroboration available. It also makes the case for the waterfall itself: if the best single source clears about 60%, the second provider is not a luxury.

The 5 to 10% spread between vendors is this commenter's estimate and nothing here verifies it, and the thread it comes from is a request for benchmarks that were never published. Read it as a reason to run your own test on your own rows rather than as a reason to skip one, and note that it argues against paying a premium for coverage claims, which is a different question from paying a premium for a redistribution license.

14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.

Comparison pages end at the rate card. Your list does not.

We run the bake-off on your actual data, pick the provider order, and build the pipeline behind it: waterfall routing, credit ceilings and the write-back that puts a verified contact in front of a rep the same day.

See the stacks

Worked with 300+ companies. A senior operator runs your account.

FAQ

Clay and People Data Labs, answered

Read from the same records that drive the table above.

Is Clay or People Data Labs cheaper?

On the entry plan it is People Data Labs, $98/mo against Clay at $167/mo. Per unit it is $0.045 per data credit against $0.28 per record.

Can I try Clay and People Data Labs for free?

Clay: Free plan, 500 actions and 100 data credits per month. People Data Labs: Free plan, up to 100 credits per month with contact data obfuscated.

What are the rate limits on Clay and People Data Labs?

Clay: Concurrency governed by plan, not a published per-minute cap. People Data Labs: Per key, fixed window, separate per endpoint. Reported in the response headers.

Do Clay and People Data Labs both have MCP servers?

One of them. Clay ships one (https://api.clay.com/v3/mcp); People Data Labs documents none.

Which is better, Clay or People Data Labs?

Clay maximizes the chance of finding a row. People Data Labs maximizes what you are allowed to do with it. Clay's rows inherit the terms of whichever of its 150 providers answered, which is fine internally and genuinely hard to reason about in a product.

What are the downsides of Clay and People Data Labs?

Measured against each other rather than in general. Clay: none of the structural gaps in this answer; the limits section carries its operational ones. People Data Labs: there is no documented MCP server, so an agent has to go through your own code.

Can you use Clay and People Data Labs together?

The split that works is by destination rather than by coverage: People Data Labs for the rows that go into something you sell, Clay for the rows your own team works.

Can I migrate from Clay to People Data Labs without losing data?

Not without losing a field. People Data Labs does not return technographics, job postings, job changes and intent and news, which Clay does, so anything downstream that reads it has to change. Either way, measure your match rate on 500 rows before you switch, because that number is the one you cannot recover afterwards.

Published by

Frontal

Frontal is the go-to-market partner for B2B tech companies past product-market fit. It publishes this directory. Every price, tier requirement and rate limit on this page was read from the vendor's own pricing page, developer documentation or knowledge base on the date below. Nothing on it is restated from a press release or a third-party listing.

Frontal is a Clay Elite Studio Partner.

Where a vendor publishes no public figure, this page says so rather than estimating. How we checked.

Reviewed by

Kenny Damian

Co-founder & Head of GTM, Frontal

Verified
8 to 19 Oct 2026
Sources
6 vendor documents