Attio alternatives, sorted by why you are leaving
A CRM for people who want to define the schema themselves. Not everybody does. 4 replacements below, each one matched to a specific reason rather than ranked on a score nobody can audit.
Prices and limits for every option below are read off the vendor's own page. These are the Attio competitors that answer a named problem, not a field of logos.
The 4 reasons people actually leave
If none of these is your situation, the honest answer is that you should probably stay, and the Attio API review covers what you already have. The 26 providers these replacements are drawn from are in the CRM and sync APIs listing.
1 · Somebody has to design the data model
The reason to buy Attio is that objects and attributes are yours, defined through the API. That is also a job. A team that wants a working pipeline on Monday is being handed a blank page, and the opinionated CRMs it competes with have already made those decisions.
2 · US$44 a user is mid-market pricing
The free plan has full API access and 100 seat credits a month, which is a real place to start. After that it is three times a Pipedrive seat, and the thing you are paying the premium for is flexibility rather than features a sales manager will name.
3 · The ecosystem is younger
The API, SDK and MCP server are good and shipped together. What is thinner is everything around them: fewer prebuilt connectors, fewer agencies who have done it before, fewer answers already written down when something behaves unexpectedly.
4 · It is a CRM, not a suite
If marketing automation, ticketing and the CRM need to be one system, Attio is a deliberate no rather than a gap, and the integration work to assemble the rest is yours.
4 replacements, and what each one fixes
Ordered by how often they turn out to be the right answer, not by price.
| Provider | Entry price | Unit cost | Free tier | Fixes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Attio API | $44/user/mo | Not by the unit | Free plan with full API access, 100 seat credits a month | Baseline |
| HubSpot API | Free tier | $0 free tier | Free CRM including API access | Best free CRM endpoint |
| Pipedrive | US$14/seat/mo | Not by the unit | No free tier. 14-day trial, no card. | Best CRM API for small sales teams |
| Salesforce | US$125/seat/mo | Not by the unit | No free tier with API access. Developer Edition is free and gets 15,000 calls a day. | Best CRM API for enterprise integration |
| Clay | $167/mo | $0.0452 per data credit | Free plan, 500 actions and 100 data credits per month | Best orchestration layer |
Read from each vendor's own pricing page between 8 and 19 October 2026.
The case for each one
Each one below is matched to a reason rather than scored, and each one names what you give up by taking it. A replacement with no downside is a replacement nobody has actually run.
HubSpot API
The opinionated alternative with a free tier that also includes full API access, plus marketing and ticketing in the same account.
If Attio's flexibility turned out to be work rather than freedom, HubSpot is the opposite choice made deliberately. The object model is decided for you, which means the CRM is usable on day one instead of after a design exercise.
The free tier carries full CRM object access over REST, not a trial, so the whole integration can be built and run before anything is bought. Paid starts at $20 a seat against Attio's $44 a user.
There are two official MCP servers, one remote for the CRM and one local for builds, and the limit is a rate rather than a budget: 100 requests per 10 seconds on Free and Starter, 190 on Professional.
What you give up
The schema. You cannot define objects and attributes through HubSpot's API the way you can in Attio, so anything that is not a contact, company, deal or ticket becomes a custom property on one of those. You also inherit a daily cap shared across every connected app.
When it is the wrong answer
Teams who chose Attio precisely because their motion does not fit contacts and deals. Moving to the most opinionated CRM on the page will not fix that and will make it permanent.
Entry Free tier. Free CRM including API access. Every enrichment pipeline eventually has to land somewhere a rep will look. Read the review · Attio vs HubSpot
Pipedrive
US$14 a seat with API access on every plan and a pipeline that works out of the box. The cheapest way to stop paying for flexibility.
Pipedrive is a third of Attio's seat price with full API access included in the entry plan, and no add-on at any tier. For a team that was never going to use custom objects, that is the whole argument.
What it meters is complexity: 30,000 tokens a day times a plan multiplier times your seats, with a published cost per endpoint, so a search is 40 tokens and a read is 2. You can compute your exact daily ceiling before writing code, which Attio's plain rate limit does not require but also does not give you.
There is an MCP server, webhooks and one REST API, and that is the complete surface. For most small sales teams that is the right amount of product.
What you give up
The schema again, and the free tier. Pipedrive is a pipeline of deals with no free plan at all, only 14 days, so there is nowhere to leave a prototype running.
When it is the wrong answer
Anyone whose integration searches in a loop. A search costs twenty reads, and the daily budget is per seat, so a small team on Lite has 1,500 searches a day before a 429.
Entry US$14/seat/mo. No free tier. 14-day trial, no card.. Pipedrive is the CRM most small sales teams already run, and its API is priced into the seat rather than metered. Read the review · Attio vs Pipedrive
Salesforce
The other CRM here with genuinely first-class custom objects, plus the Metadata API to deploy schema changes properly.
If you liked Attio's premise and outgrew its depth, Salesforce is the only other CRM in this directory where custom objects are first-class rather than custom fields wearing a costume. It also has the Metadata and Tooling APIs, so schema changes can be versioned and deployed rather than clicked.
The API surface is more than a dozen: REST, SOAP, Bulk 2.0, GraphQL, Metadata, Tooling and Pub/Sub, each for a different job. Attio has one REST API and an SDK.
The ceiling is an org budget of 100,000 calls a day plus 1,000 per Enterprise license, pooled across integrations, so throughput grows with the business rather than with a support ticket.
What you give up
Price and simplicity. API access is a US$25 per user add-on on Pro Suite and included only from Core at US$195, so US$125 a seat is the real floor against Attio's $44. You also take on an administrator, which Attio was partly chosen to avoid.
When it is the wrong answer
Teams under about fifty people. This is three times Attio's cost and considerably more overhead, and the capability it adds is the capability small teams never reach.
Entry US$125/seat/mo. No free tier with API access. Developer Edition is free and gets 15,000 calls a day.. Salesforce has the deepest API surface of any CRM in this directory, and the only one you have to buy on purpose. Read the review · Attio vs Salesforce
Clay
Not a CRM. Named because teams drawn to Attio are often really after a flexible table for research work, and that is a different product.
Attio and Clay attract the same people for different reasons. If what you wanted was a place to run research steps, branch on conditions and enrich rows with your own logic, that is Clay, and it writes the answers back into whatever CRM you keep.
Clay routes a lookup across more than 150 providers on one contract, which is coverage you cannot assemble another way, and the logic is editable by a non-engineer.
The cost model to understand first: a found contact costs an action for Clay's work plus the data credits of whichever provider answered, $0.0452 a credit on annual Launch, and a miss costs nothing. The HTTP API also unlocks only on the $446 Growth plan.
What you give up
Nothing, because it replaces nothing. Clay is not a system of record and should not become one, so taking this means keeping a CRM and adding a second bill.
When it is the wrong answer
Anyone who needs a CRM. If reps are going to live in it every day, a workbench is the wrong shape and Attio is still the better answer.
Entry $167/mo. Free plan, 500 actions and 100 data credits per month. Clay is not really an enrichment API, it is the router in front of everybody else's. Read the review · Attio vs Clay
What you would actually pay, on each one
Every provider on this page publishes a rate card, so the real numbers can sit next to each other rather than behind a summary. The plan you want is the one whose included volume covers a normal month for you, not the cheapest one on the page.
Attio API
Attio API publishes 4 tiers, one of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $44 to Custom.
Free
- Full REST API access
- 100 seat credits a month
- 250 workspace credits a month
Plus
- 500 seat credits a month
- 1,500 workspace credits a month
- Billed monthly or annually
Pro
- 1,000 seat credits a month
- 10,000 workspace credits a month
- The tier Attio marks as popular
Enterprise
- 2,500 seat credits a month
- Custom workspace credits
HubSpot API
HubSpot API publishes 4 tiers, one of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $20 to Quote.
Free
- Full CRM object access over the API
- Free Marketing, Sales, Service, Content, Data and Revenue tools
- 100 calls per 10s, 250,000 a day
- No credit card required
Starter
- Same API, same limits as Free
- 500 HubSpot Credits included
- 1,000 marketing contacts
- From $7/seat/mo on the current new-customer offer
Professional
- 190 calls per 10s per app
- 625,000 calls a day per account
- Where the limit increase starts to matter
Enterprise
- 190 calls per 10s per app
- 1,000,000 calls a day per account
- Highest published daily ceiling
Pipedrive
Pipedrive publishes 4 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from US$14 to US$79.
Lite
- US$168 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 1, so 30,000 a day per seat
- Full API access
Growth
- US$468 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 2, so 60,000 a day per seat
- Email automation and follow-ups
Premium
- US$708 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 5, so 150,000 a day per seat
- Pipedrive marks this the most popular tier
Ultimate
- US$948 per seat per year
- Token multiplier 7, so 210,000 a day per seat
- The complete suite
Salesforce
Salesforce publishes 5 tiers, none of them free, and the paid ladder runs from US$25 to US$550.
Starter Suite
- Sales, service, marketing and commerce in one
- Slack included at no extra cost
- Not listed on the API rate-limit table
Pro Suite
- Web Services API available for an extra $25/user/mo
- So US$125/user/mo all in, the cheapest API access here
- 5 flows per org
Core
- APIs included, no add-on
- Forecasting, opportunity scoring, conversation intelligence
- Agentforce with the free Salesforce Foundations add-on
Advanced
- APIs included
- 1 Full Sandbox included per org
- Everything in Core plus advanced automation
Max
- APIs included
- Slack Enterprise+ included
- The complete suite
Clay
Clay publishes 4 tiers, one of them free, and the paid ladder runs from $167 to Custom.
Free
- 100 data credits a month, 1,200 a year
- Unlimited seats and tables, up to 200 rows per table
- Multi-provider waterfalls and Claygent
- Bring your own API key
Launch
- 2,500 data credits a month, 30,000 a year, unused ones roll over up to 2x
- Phone number enrichment
- Job change and other signals, unlimited Audiences search
- Send through the Clay Sequencer or an integration
Growth
- 6,000 data credits a month, 72,000 a year, unused ones roll over up to 2x
- Integrate with any HTTP API. This is the tier that unlocks it
- Auto-sync and enrich CRM, warehouse sync
- Web intent signals, webhook-driven automation
Enterprise
- Custom action and data credit volume, and Clay API access for calling Clay from your own code
- Auto-delete, so one webhook takes unlimited submissions
Read the included volume before the headline price. A plan that costs twice as much and carries five times the credits is the cheaper plan, and on this page that is the usual case rather than the exception.
What each one costs at your volume
Attio first, then every replacement. The model picks the cheapest published plan that covers your volume on each one, which is the comparison a row of entry prices cannot make.
Attio API
Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.
HubSpot API
Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.
Pipedrive
Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.
Salesforce
Priced per seat, so the bill moves with headcount rather than with volume.
Plans are read from each vendor's own pricing page and the model picks the cheapest one that covers you, so these are list prices before any discount you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount.
What a year costs at three volumes
The same plan-fit arithmetic as the model above, run out to a year, because an annual number is what a budget actually asks for. Attio API, HubSpot API, Pipedrive and Salesforce are priced per seat, so those columns do not move with volume. The figure shown is 3 seats for a year.
| A year at | Attio API | HubSpot API | Pipedrive | Salesforce | Clay |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1,000 a month | $1,584 Plus | $720 Starter | $504 Lite | $4,500 Pro Suite | $5,352 Growth |
| 10,000 a month | $1,584 Plus | $720 Starter | $504 Lite | $4,500 Pro Suite | $5,352 Growth |
| 50,000 a month | $1,584 Plus | $720 Starter | $504 Lite | $4,500 Pro Suite | Quoted |
5 of the 5 providers here publish enough to be put in this table. These are list prices on the published plan that covers each volume, so they are the number before you negotiate and before annual billing, which most of these vendors discount by between a fifth and a half.
Which replacement is yours
Answer what matters most and the lean appears below. Every option is read from the records on this page, and staying on Attio is one of the possible answers.
Each answer leans one way. The recommendation appears here once you have picked at least two.
A tool like this can only weigh what is on the page. It does not know your segment, and the one test that does is the bake-off further down: real rows, cheapest entry on each side, spend divided by survivors.
Where an answer leans on a certification or an integration, it means that vendor publishes it on the pages this directory read, which is not the same as the other one lacking it. The sources are listed at the foot of the page.
Where the data comes from, and what you may do with it
The question that arrives late and expensively is not how good the data is, it is who is allowed to hold it. A migration is the moment to check it, because you are signing a new contract anyway.
| Provider | Fields returned | Coverage | Compliance | Redistribution |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Attio API | CRM records, Work email, Firmographics | Global | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II | Not stated |
| HubSpot API | CRM records, Work email, Firmographics | Global | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II CCPA | Not stated |
| Pipedrive | CRM records, Work email, Firmographics | Global | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II | Not stated |
| Salesforce | CRM records, Work email, Firmographics | Global | SOC 1 ISO 27001 ISO 42001 | Not stated |
| Clay | Work email, Personal email, Mobile phone, Firmographics, Technographics, Job postings, Job changes, Intent and news, LinkedIn profile | Global | GDPR DPA SOC 2 Type II | Not stated |
None of these states a redistribution position on its pricing or docs pages. Internally that never matters. Put the rows in something your customers can see and it becomes the question your legal team asks first.
Two practical notes that apply to every provider on this page. A compliance badge describes the vendor, not your use of it, so a GDPR DPA does not give you a lawful basis for the outreach you send. And every one of these vendors runs its own opt-out, which means a person who asks you to delete their record has to be removed from your copy as well as from theirs.
Moving off Attio
Written against HubSpot API, the first pick above, because the steps are the same whichever one you take and the specifics are what make them useful. Swap the name and the order still holds.
Measure the thing you are about to lose
Run 500 rows you already have through Attio API and record the match rate, the fields that came back populated and the cost. Without that number a migration cannot be judged, because every provider looks cheaper per unit than the one you are paying for today.
Check the fields, not the field count
HubSpot API returns every field Attio API does, so nothing downstream has to change shape. Confirm the values rather than the keys: two providers can both return a mobile number and disagree about which one it is.
Rewrite the auth and the limits, in that order
Attio API authenticates with bearer token or OAuth 2.0. HubSpot API uses private app token or OAuth 2.0.
The limits are the part that bites later. Attio API rate: 100 requests/s for reads, 25/s for writes, across the whole API.
HubSpot API rate: 100 req/10s on Free and Starter, 190 on Professional. Daily cap shared across apps. A loop tuned to the first will either crawl or get throttled on the second.
Run both for one billing cycle
Keep the old key live and route a slice of real traffic to the new one. A month is the shortest honest test, because credit expiry, rollover and the overage rate only show up at renewal and those are where the surprises live.
Cancel on the renewal date, not before
Credits on most of these plans do not survive a downgrade. Check what happens to the balance you have already paid for, and time the switch so you are not buying the same records twice.
The step people skip is the first one, and it is the only one that cannot be done after the fact. Once the old key is off you have nothing to compare the new match rate against, so a provider that is quietly worse on your segment looks like a provider that is fine.
What practitioners say about HubSpot
Transcribed as written and linked to the thread. A Reddit claim is a signal rather than a fact, so nothing here is the only source for any figure on this page.
The per-app rate limit is why people end up running several private apps
API limits are not being respected or the sync isn't really set up in a way that someone with knowledge of the api. They may not be using a queue system. They haven't optimized and paid attention to api limits. [...] This may need to be done using multiple private app keys because you are hitting specific limits. [...] If these updates are happening all at once, batch and import/export APIs are the way to go
r/hubspot · April 2025 · 2 points
This corroborates the shape of HubSpot's limits rather than the numbers. The rate, 100 requests per 10 seconds on Free and Starter and 190 on Professional, is per app, which is exactly why splitting work across several private apps raises throughput at all.
The part that is easy to miss is that the daily cap is not per app, so the same trick does nothing for it. Splitting a sync across three private apps triples the requests a second you can make and shares one daily budget between them, which is a fix for the wrong half of the problem if the daily cap is what you were hitting.
14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.
What practitioners say about Pipedrive
Transcribed as written and linked to the thread. A Reddit claim is a signal rather than a fact, so nothing here is the only source for any figure on this page.
A third-party integration spends your token budget, and you find out late
[...] co-founder of Outfunnel. You're right that our Pipedrive API usage wasn't well optimized initially. At the time, we had no advance notice that API usage would become metered, and we were caught off guard by the change. Sorry if we burned through your limits during those first weeks! That said, we responded quickly once the issue became apparent, and since those initial hiccups, we've had no recurring problems with excessive or unnecessary API consumption.
r/pipedrive · June 2026 · 2 points
A vendor on the record about spending somebody else's allowance, which is the clearest illustration of what a shared daily budget means. Pipedrive's budget is 30,000 tokens times a plan multiplier times your seats, pooled across every integration on the account, so an app you installed from the marketplace draws on the same pool as the pipeline you wrote.
The practical note is the one the thread starts from: you will notice through a 429 on your own code rather than through a bill. Audit what is connected before you size a backfill, and check the marketplace apps first.
14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.
What practitioners say about Salesforce
Transcribed as written and linked to the thread. A Reddit claim is a signal rather than a fact, so nothing here is the only source for any figure on this page.
Paying per seat for integrations is what pushed teams into sharing credentials
[...] I've seen SO much horrible security practise and API user sharing at small/mid size companies who just can't afford a proper full user license for each dedicated integration. Can't wait to share this news tomorrow to my boss.
r/salesforce · March 2023 · 11 points
Written when API-only licenses arrived, and it is the clearest practitioner account of what this page's pricing section describes. When a license costs US$125 a seat with the API add-on, a company with six integrations is being asked for six seats for software rather than people, and the thing that gives way is the credential.
The security consequence is the part a rate card does not show. One shared integration user across six systems means no way to tell which of them made a call, revoked access for one revokes it for all, and the daily org budget drains with no attribution. Price the integration users before you commit, not after.
14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.
What practitioners say about Clay
Transcribed as written and linked to the thread. A Reddit claim is a signal rather than a fact, so nothing here is the only source for any figure on this page.
Use it as a filter, not as a bulk provider
One thing I've seen with Clay is that it feels expensive when you use it like a bulk data provider, but much more reasonable when you use it as a filter first. I rarely enrich everything. I narrow the list with cheap signals and firmographics, then only run waterfall email/phone on leads that actually look worth it. That shift alone cut my credit usage a lot, and the outreach quality went up because fewer bad leads made it through. At that point you're paying for decisions, not just data.
r/gtmengineering · January 2026 · 16 points
This is the argument the pricing section makes, arrived at from the other direction. The lever that moves a Clay bill is not the rate, it is how many rows ever reach the expensive step. Narrowing on firmographics first costs almost nothing and keeps the paid enrichments for rows worth contacting.
It also explains why a team that thinks it wants to leave Clay often does not need to. The complaint is usually the spend, and the fix is usually an ordering change rather than a migration.
14 threads read on 13 October 2026, searched by vendor name. Scores and dates are the comment's own. Nothing here is the only source for a price or a limit on this site: every figure in the tables above comes from a vendor's own page.
Should you actually switch?
Attio is the right answer to a specific question: who owns the schema. If that question does not feel urgent, the alternatives are all cheaper or more complete, and HubSpot matches the free API access while making the modeling decisions for you. The one comparison worth running properly is Attio against Salesforce, because they are the two here with real custom objects, and the gap is about $81 a seat and an administrator. If the schema is already a shared asset that integrations and reports depend on, that gap buys deployment tooling you will eventually want.
A CRM migration is a data-model migration, so test that rather than the API. Build your three most awkward objects in the replacement, using one free tier and one trial, then point one real integration at it and see what it has to invent. Count the reports and automations still pointing at the old system before you commit to a date: that number, not the seat price, is what decides whether this is worth doing.
Head to head, and in a stack
HubSpot API vs Attio API
CompareA free CRM API against a CRM whose data model you define in code.
Compare them →Attio API vs Salesforce
CompareDefine the schema in code for free, or buy the deepest API in the category by the seat.
Compare them →Attio API vs Pipedrive
CompareA schema you define in code against a pipeline that works out of the box.
Compare them →Agent-driven account research
StackPoint an AI client at two MCP servers and have it write a researched account brief straight into the CRM.
See the stack →All alternatives
29Every provider in the directory that teams regularly try to replace, with the reasons and the replacements for each.
Browse the hub →Switching costs more than the rate card says. Usually.
Three times out of four the fix is a second provider behind the first and a credit ceiling in front of it, not a migration. We will tell you which case you are in before you sign anything.
Worked with 300+ companies. A senior operator runs your account.
Switching from Attio, answered
What is the best Attio alternative?
It depends on why you are leaving, which is how this page is organized rather than ranked. The replacement most teams land on is HubSpot, which this directory lists as the best free CRM endpoint, and it costs nothing to start. The case for it, and what you give up, is in the section above.
Is there a free alternative to Attio?
HubSpot (Free CRM including API access) and Clay (Free plan, 500 actions and 100 data credits per month).
What is the cheapest Attio alternative?
On the entry plan, HubSpot: free, against Attio at $44/user/mo. Entry price is not the same as cost per result, so check the unit figure on each review before deciding.
How were these alternatives chosen?
By the reason teams leave, not by a score. The page opens with the reasons teams leave and matches a replacement to each one.